Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Rules

Subject: British play of LaFitte in USA occupied New Orleans rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
"Laser-focused, with a half thought-out plan, this is what a hero looks like." -Narrator in the 2018 Peter Rabbit movie.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We assume this is correct:

The US Expedition F is still in New Orleans when the British play the LaFitte card as the event. LaFitte and the two units are placed British-side up in US-occupied New Orleans. This triggers combat, including local militia for the US player. The Peace track can be affected by this battle.

All correct?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Steffan, I'll be interested in what the designers say, but the card says to place LaFitte and company "with an Expedition." If the side that plays LaFitte doesn't have an Expedition there, then I wouldn't think the card could be used that way. The question would then be, could these units constitute an Expedition on their own? They don't appear to be intended to work that way (they can't leave New Orleans, and the LaFitte leader doesn't have an activation number).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Steffan's assumptions are all correct. It would perhaps have been more clear if we said "with an Expedition already in New Orleans, or create one there for him" or something like that. The idea is: Lafitte either joins an American expedition there to help defend the place (as he did historically) or joins a British expedition attacking the place (as the British tried to convince him to do) or, as in Seffan's example, "raid" New Orleans on his own (which he considered doing). But the last option is a one-shot deal: play the card, have a battle, if he's forced to retreat, he's removed (as it says on the card). If he wins- or ties- he sits in New Orleans and can not be activated again. Of course, if the British Invasion Fleet comes along later, he can join in on their attack- if he's still there.

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's makes the card a lot more interesting. Thanks for bringing that up, Steffan!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Oliver Hazard Perry leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just re-reading Steffan's original post, he did have one thing wrong: Lafite and his two units are not placed loose in New Orleans, they are placed in a new British Expedition, which is then placed in New Orleans. Note that the attack is rather dangerous, since it only takes two hits to wipe out Lafite's expedition, which would be a Peace Track move. Of course, the British have more to gain in taking New Orleans...

Kevin
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.