Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

D-Day Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you use the messenger twice in a turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Hinkes
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I use the messenger to get a discounted specialist, trade it to a fellow squad in my area, and then have him buy a discounted specialist? Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Pilnick
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up in our game last night as well. Considering the messenger specifically limits itself to one trade, we ruled that it could be used before and after a trade. An official ruling would be appreciated as well though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul M
United States
Elkhart
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a busy messenger.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
ipgyst wrote:
That's a busy messenger.

Run Forest, run!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say the Messenger must be traded during Phase 2, before Specialists are recruited.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JHG Hendriks
Netherlands
Rosmalen
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Amiral wrote:
I would say the Messenger must be traded during Phase 2, before Specialists are recruited.


Your answer is a bit ambigious:
Does that mean this is now an official ruling?

I prefer it to be so, btw.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JHGHendriks wrote:
Amiral wrote:
I would say the Messenger must be traded during Phase 2, before Specialists are recruited.


Your answer is a bit ambigious:
Does that mean this is now an official ruling?

I prefer it to be so, btw.


Yes, consider it official.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
THE REVENGE OF THE GOLDFISH
Greece
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that using him only once during phase 3 is more in rules spirit,besides all trades are in phase 3,right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Friedrich wrote:
I think that using him only once during phase 3 is more in rules spirit,besides all trades are in phase 3,right?


You can play him like that if you want. It doesn't go against the rules, as long as he doesn't apply his ability to 2 different players.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grue
United States
SF East Bay
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If that is the ruling, then why limit the Messenger to trade once per turn? It wouldn't offer any advantage to give it to one person, who then just gives it to another person?

That's the reason I interpreted as the OP did.

But, if that's the official ruling...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrFunk wrote:
If that is the ruling, then why limit the Messenger to trade once per turn? It wouldn't offer any advantage to give it to one person, who then just gives it to another person?

That's the reason I interpreted as the OP did.

But, if that's the official ruling... :)


Well, there is the risk of having the Messenger be "passed around" every turn, giving everyone his power. That would make him a bit too strong, considering his cost.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Pilnick
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amiral wrote:
MrFunk wrote:
If that is the ruling, then why limit the Messenger to trade once per turn? It wouldn't offer any advantage to give it to one person, who then just gives it to another person?

That's the reason I interpreted as the OP did.

But, if that's the official ruling...


Well, there is the risk of having the Messenger be "passed around" every turn, giving everyone his power. That would make him a bit too strong, considering his cost.

Serious question, if he was intended to only be used once per turn, why does his card include the one trade per turn clause?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanuel Aquin
Canada
Mont-Saint-Hilaire
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
And D-Day Dice, too!
badge
I'm an "A"vatar.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Escher0 wrote:
Amiral wrote:
MrFunk wrote:
If that is the ruling, then why limit the Messenger to trade once per turn? It wouldn't offer any advantage to give it to one person, who then just gives it to another person?

That's the reason I interpreted as the OP did.

But, if that's the official ruling... :)


Well, there is the risk of having the Messenger be "passed around" every turn, giving everyone his power. That would make him a bit too strong, considering his cost.

Serious question, if he was intended to only be used once per turn, why does his card include the one trade per turn clause?


Simply because I forgot.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Pilnick
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amiral wrote:
Escher0 wrote:
Amiral wrote:
MrFunk wrote:
If that is the ruling, then why limit the Messenger to trade once per turn? It wouldn't offer any advantage to give it to one person, who then just gives it to another person?

That's the reason I interpreted as the OP did.

But, if that's the official ruling...


Well, there is the risk of having the Messenger be "passed around" every turn, giving everyone his power. That would make him a bit too strong, considering his cost.

Serious question, if he was intended to only be used once per turn, why does his card include the one trade per turn clause?


Simply because I forgot.

Good enough for me
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.