Subject: AAR: Part I--From France to Barbarossa rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Richardson
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmb
This is my first attempt at an AAR, so bear with me.

My gaming buddy, Toby, and I are the only two gamers that we know of in Sherman, Texas, so we play Eurofront II in stretches of a few months, then leave it alone for a few months, then pick it up again. With the release of the Ver. 1.15 rules, we decided it was time to play again. We've been strategy game competitors since we discovered Axis & Allies when we were kids 25 years ago. We progressed to Europe Aflame, then Europe Engulfed, and finally discovered Eurofront. Needless to say, we've been hooked ever since. As a personal disclosure, I will say that Toby is far better than I am at Eurofront and most of our games end with me resigning in 1942 when my situation, whichever side I'm playing, is clearly hopeless.

On this particular session, it is my turn to play the Germans. We skipped the 1939 scenario and began with the 1940 scenario on the eve of the invasion of the low countries. The original setup looked like this:

As you can see the Germans concentrated north of the Maginot line ready to blitz across Holland and Belgium. The attack commenced in the second fortnight of May with the Germans completely overrunning Holland. Belgium chose to defend the hex southwest of Brussels instead of in the Ardennes which prevented the Germans from completely encircling Brussels. However, the fort at Liege was defeated and the static protecting its rear fell in the blitz phase. Brussels was invested and thanks to some good shooting, the Belgian division holding the city was hit 7 times, almost eliminating it and securing Brussels for the Germans. The lone French infantry unit holding Phillipville was also destroyed and 4 German divisions roared into north France, engaging more French defenders east of Paris. The situation at the end of the German turn: