Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defending armies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
C M
Germany
flag msg tools
Move along, move along...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Several SP combat cards refer to a "defending army". Does this apply literally to any defending army (including the SP ones) or does this mean the FP armies, assuming it is the SP that attacks them?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay P

Alexandria
Virginia
msg tools
The defending army is whatever army isn't attacking. If FP player is attacking, then SP is defending. If SP player is attacking, then FP player is defending. Card effects apply as worded.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dariusz M
Poland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
PapaGamer wrote:
The defending army is whatever army isn't attacking. If FP player is attacking, then SP is defending. If SP player is attacking, then FP player is defending. Card effects apply as worded.

So, in every battle we have defending and attacking armies. So, cards refer to every battle?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think this is best answered with an example:

The Combat Card "Devilry of Orthanc":

Devilry of Orthanc
Play if an Isengard Army
unit is in the battle and
the defending Army is in a
Stronghold.

Add 1 to all dice on your Combat
roll.

This card can be played in a combat no matter if the Shadow Army (with the Isengard unit) is attacking a Stronghold in a siege battle or defending a Stronghold against an attacking FP Army.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.