FRANCISCO JAVIER RUIZ GOMEZ
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello:

I have a question about Piracy on the Europe Map.

In Section 3 states:

**********

3. Roll Dice Against Pirates: The targeted power rolls the number of dice computed above. Each roll of a “5” or a “6” is considered to be a hit. Hits are applied as follows:

a) If the Ottoman initiated piracy with corsairs, start by eliminating 1 corsair for each hit.

b) If hits remain after Step (a), eliminate 1 naval unit from the active power’s stack for every 2 hits scored (units eliminated are chosen by active player).

c) If exactly 1 hit remains after Step (b), eliminate 1 extra naval unit (again chosen by active player).


**********

In one of my games, I play with France and England has done an act of Piracy in the North Sea against me. The Fortress of Perth has a "5" on the dice.

How to apply the only hit to the English fleet consists of 2 galleons?

- Section a: Does not apply, obviously.

- Section b: Can not sink any fleet, and I need to have at least 2 hits, and I have only 1 hit.

- Section c: I can to apply the hit that was not used in the previous section b), or against the lone hit is lost .... sink without a fleet?

In summary, this impact alone can not sink a fleet according to section b, can be used to sink a fleet according to section c?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
JavideNuln wrote:
In summary, this impact alone can not sink a fleet according to section b, can be used to sink a fleet according to section c?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, even one hit would sink an English galleon.

EDIT: However, you would not have gotten a piracy dice from Perth


Quick question (I will edit my answer, once I hear something about this question):

Quote:
1 die for each fortress controlled by the targeted power (or
another power at war with the active power) adjacent to the sea
zone
where piracy is occurring. This fortress must be adjacent
to the zone where piracy is occurring and may not be in unrest
or under siege. (NOTE: This die is for fortresses, not fortified
spaces, so keys do not give you these dice.)


I noticed that Perth is not a port. but is adjacent to the North Sea. Do fortresses which are not ports but still adjacent to a sea zone, give anti-piracy dice?

EDIT: See posts below. Perth is not a port.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Federico Galeotti
Italy
Firenze
flag msg tools
http://www.gruppoludico.it/
badge
I believe you find life such a problem because you think there are the good people and the bad people. You're wrong, of course. There are, always and only, the bad people, but some of them are on opposite sides.
Avatar
mb
I think that ports are the only spaces that can be considered adjacent to sea zones, but I can be mistaken.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
"The mystery of life isn't a problem to solve, but a reality to experience"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vetinari7878 wrote:
I think that ports are the only spaces that can be considered adjacent to sea zones, but I can be mistaken.


Yes I believe you are correct, based on 2.0:

Quote:
The game is played on a 22” x 34” map that depicts the areas of the
world critical to European rulers in the late 16th Century. The main
playing area represents Europe and is referred to as the “Europe
Map” in these rules. Cities and towns that played an important role
in the history of Europe during this period are represented on the
Europe map as square, circular, and eight-pointed symbols called
“spaces.” A network of lines called “connections” link these spaces.
A space connected to another by one of these lines is an “adjacent”
space. Some of the spaces are also ports (a circular symbol with an
anchor inside). Ports allow access to a series of areas called “sea
zones” (blue regions with dotted blue boundaries)
.


So I believe that the OP would actually not have been able to get a piracy dice against the English from Perth.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
vetinari7878 wrote:
I think that ports are the only spaces that can be considered adjacent to sea zones, but I can be mistaken.


You are right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
FRANCISCO JAVIER RUIZ GOMEZ
Spain
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello:

Thanks for the reply.

It is clear that the Pirate Galleon is sunk with a single hit..... The problem is that the Fortress of Perth is not a port and therefore does not act against piracy.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.