Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are actions interchangeable? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neil Sorenson
United States
Springfield
VT: VERMONT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
The rules say "During each hero turn, the hero may perform any two actions of his choice. This section explains detailed rules for actions."

Is a player allowed to use the same action twice rather than two different actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Ober
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolutely. Move-move, move-attack, attack-move, move-search, attack-attack, whatever combo you want.

Just remember, that you can interrupt your move action with another action and then return to the move action. So your hero can move 2 spaces, search (or attack!) and then finish moving.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Robinson
United States
McCordsville
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is my understanding (after my first read through of the rules last night). I recall using two MOVE actions as an example of this in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Scatliff
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
It's about time, too.
badge
I hate overtext but love irony.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh most definitely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Scatliff
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
It's about time, too.
badge
I hate overtext but love irony.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that all monsters can do this as well with the one exception that they cannot do attack-attack (barring the use of a frenzy).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Ober
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just took a look at the rules. On page 7, on the Hero Turn Summary, step 3:

"The player may perform any of the actions summarized below, and may even perform the same action twice."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom H
Australia
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Close door... open door!
Close door... open door!
Close door... open door!
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Sorenson
United States
Springfield
VT: VERMONT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
oberjt wrote:
I just took a look at the rules. On page 7, on the Hero Turn Summary, step 3:

"The player may perform any of the actions summarized below, and may even perform the same action twice."


Ha ha! I missed that because (ironically) although it is mentioned (and BOLDED) on the summary page, it is not mentioned on any of the hero turn detail pages - I hadn't rolled back far enough to catch it...

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.