Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Carrier rules during a transfer action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randy Main
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The rulebook is clear that a carrier must be used to transfer units between two sectors, however, it is a bit unclear if the carrier can make multiple trips or not, thus allowing any ground forces to freely transfer between the two systems so long as there is at least 1 carrier with remaining capacity somewhere in the two systems activated. Can anyone clear up their take on the ruling here? Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Peejays84 wrote:
The rulebook is clear that a carrier must be used to transfer units between two sectors, however, it is a bit unclear if the carrier can make multiple trips or not, thus allowing any ground forces to freely transfer between the two systems so long as there is at least 1 carrier with remaining capacity somewhere in the two systems activated. Can anyone clear up their take on the ruling here? Thanks.

The transfer action does still have a specific sequence. The carriers cannot make multiple trips like that, because you can only unload their cargo during the Planetary Landing step, which happens after the Movement step.

During Movement, you can move back and forth between the two systems all you want (within your movement value, of course), picking up forces however you want, but they can only land those forces after movement is done.

So if you had, say, 12 GFs you wanted to move from one system to the other, it would take 2 Carriers. You could not pick up 6, move to the other system, drop them off, come back, pick up the other 6, move to the other system again and drop them off also, even if your carrier somehow had 3 movement.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Main
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you Sig. That makes sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.