Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

New Imperialism in China» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a treasury-broken power attack? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Our group found that it might not be realistic to see a power who doesn't have resource point in the treasury can still battle without worrying to lose 2 resource points even it lost the battle. There is no such thing as "negative" resource point in the rules. So you might see a treasury-broken Russia dash to battle Qing even though Russia doesn't have the resource points left. Qing might lose the 2 resource points if it still has resources in the treasury but Russia doesn't have to if it loses the battle. This seems to encourage some ahistorical development in the game. A house rule can fix this problem easily but I don't know if it is the intended consequences of the original design. What would the designer think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
WEI-CHENG CHENG
Taiwan
Taipei
Taiwan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lawrence Hung wrote:
Our group found that it might not be realistic to see a power who doesn't have resource point in the treasury can still battle without worrying to lose 2 resource points even it lost the battle. There is no such thing as "negative" resource point in the rules. So you might see a treasury-broken Russia dash to battle Qing even though Russia doesn't have the resource points left. Qing might lose the 2 resource points if it still has resources in the treasury but Russia doesn't have to if it loses the battle. This seems to encourage some ahistorical development in the game. A house rule can fix this problem easily but I don't know if it is the intended consequences of the original design. What would the designer think?


You can use the optional rule as follows.
Flip the losing unit to the back side and it can not get any resource in this turn.
In the beginning of the next turn, flip it to the front side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.