Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Thebes» Forums » Rules

Subject: can I discard three shovels in a turn to get three more tokens? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John blog
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose the conclusion should apply to assistants discard?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonty
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you have 3 shovels, you get 2 extra tokens from your dig. You do not discard the shovels, only if you use 1 shovel card. I don't think you can use the 3 shovel like 3 individual shovels and discard them. Same with the assistant cards, you do not discard multiple assistant cards. Only single card.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K.
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only reason to have more than two three shovels or assistants is to keep them away from your opponents.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadowen wrote:
The only reason to have more than two shovels or assistants is to keep them away from your opponents.

Since that third shovel/assistant give you one additional disc/point every time you use them, I do not agree.

As for the original question, this is answered by the rules: you may only discard a shovel/assistant if you only have a single card of that type.
As soon as you have two or more you can no longer discard any of them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonty
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Shadowen meant 3 instead of 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David K.
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ooops, you are right of course!

(corrected the comment above)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.