Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Colonial: Europe's Empires Overseas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Piracy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Moeller
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
Short question: When shipping another players resource using Merchant, is the resource owners getting a disc dependent on the good being successfully shipped?

Here is the situation:
Yellow has a booming city in a colony with 1 unrest. Red does merchant. First good has to be shipped from booming city (Yellow's resource). 1 did is rolled for piracy and hits. Clearly Red does not get a disc for this resource in the market. However, does Yellow still get a disc in their treasury?

Thematically, it seemed clear that Yellow would get "paid" regardless of whether the good made it to market or not. They get paid for the good when it gets loaded on the ship and thus it makes no difference to Yellow if Reds ships get pirated after the fact. That's how we interpreted it at least.

However the rules aren't really clear on this and, to be frank, our imposing our thematic interpretation on the rules required a bit of "lawyering". Could we get a ruling on this and maybe an explanation of the thematic view if possible? Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christophe Pont
Switzerland
Geneva
Geneva
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're right David, the rules are not clear on this. Please do it like you did it before, thematically logical, the good is bought before it is stolen, so the seller gets his treasury.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Moeller
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
Thanks for the reply.

Introduced the game to a few more friends and it was judged to be immensely satisfying. Packed it away after play and decided what to play next. Out came Colonial again. There is one complaint about the game which we all agreed upon: It's not sold in the US. Grrrrr
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christophe Pont
Switzerland
Geneva
Geneva
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I very much appreciate your comment.

The 2nd Edition, as I finally chose to call it, is due for October in the US.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.