12 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: How Honest or Dishonest are we? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Nimmo
South Africa
flag msg tools
I am designing a game that I am very excited about. It is a game of espionage that requires deduction. Part of the deduction is to enable you to win combat with enemy agents in a sort of modified rock, paper scissors format but with 5 variants.

My promblem is that although the attacker must disclose his identity, i want the defender to be able to declare who the winner of the conflict is, without identifying which type of agent he has ( as at least one other type would also have the same result.)

My question is .... are bopard game players honest enough for this? I am fairly new to gaming. If somebody was dishonest they would be found out later in the game and the game would bw spoiled.

Also when hiring new agents the amount you pay for agents also varies and although you buy more than one at a time, I need to rely on players to pay the correct amount because
1.) It gives a possible clue to the agents type.
2.) Agents with more skills cost more.

So Can an enemy be trusted to play fair?

Please, your assistance would be very helpful.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pieter
Netherlands
Maastricht
flag msg tools
Good intentions are no substitute for a good education.
badge
I take my fun very seriously.
mbmbmbmbmb
so I guess the game would be something like: there are five possible identities, and every player has one; each identity defeats two others and gets defeated by two others. Attack shows that he has identity X, and then defender says "I defeat you" or "You defeat me" without revealing his identity.