Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aaron Percival
Canada
Ottawa
ON
flag msg tools
badge
A strange game. The only winning move is not to play. How about a nice game of chess?
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm relatively new to the hobby; I started with a few titles in the Axis and Allies series, but only over the last couple of years have I ventured into other games. If you look at my modest collection, you'll find small to medium scale and complexity games, which I've thoroughly enjoyed. I've also played a few other games of similar complexity. I'm fairly comfortable learning and playing these games. Now, I'd like to take a step toward the more advanced.

I'm not looking for suggestions on games, per se. I have had the most success purchasing and playing games that have historical appeal to me. That being said, I have a copy of Rise and Decline of the Third Reich, which I'd love to get out of the box; I find WWI and WWII to be favourable subjects for me. A few examples of games that I'm currently pondering in awe are Afrika (second edition), 1914: Twilight in the East, and 1914: Offensive à outrance (perhaps as a pre-order for the future).

That's the preamble. My questions is, the more complex games obviously take more time to learn, learn well, and enjoy. Can anyone share tips, tricks, methodologies, et cetera for learning how to play complex wargames? Obviously, the best advice might be to find an experience player and be taught face-to-face. However, my experience is the more complex a game, the more niche and difficult it is to find players; at least that's my experience in my local area. So, I am asking for advice when local help isn't immediately available; advise for learning a game on one's own.

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
NSW
flag msg tools
Menin Gate at Midnight, Will Longstaff, 1927.
badge
"At the landing, and here ever since" - Anzac Book, p. 35.
mbmbmbmbmb