Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Catan: Traders & Barbarians» Forums » Rules

Subject: Catan Event Cards questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ron H
United States
Washington
Missouri
flag msg tools
I play Memor 44,Tide of Iron, and Axis and Allies:1942!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the event indicate that the player(s) with the most roads, harbors, army cards, victory points, gets a resource card and all players are equal, do all players get a resource card?

Does the epidemic last the entire year (deck) or just when that card is pulled?

If you get the "neighbor assistance" card and two players are tied for victory points (i.e. both have the same number of VP's), do both players pass cards to the poorer players?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Rapp
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
rongammer wrote:
If the event indicate that the player(s) with the most roads, harbors, army cards, victory points, gets a resource card and all players are equal, do all players get a resource card?


Generally speaking, yes, all players get a resource card.

But note the following:
"Calm sea": Players need at least one harbor to qualify. If no player has a harbor, no resources are given to the players.
"Conflict": Difference between German original rules and Mayfair-rules. The German card states "the sole player or the player holding Greatest Army". So, according to German rules, if Greatest Army is not yet claimed and two or more players have 1 or 2 knights, none should get a resource card. According to Mayfair rules, both or all players should get a resource card. (We will sort this out, but normally, the German rules take precedence.) Again, if no player has a knight card displayed, noone gets a resource card.
"Neighbourly assistance": Nothing happens if all players have the same amount of victory points.
Trade Advantage: Another difference: German card takes only effect if Longest Road is claimed. Mayfair card also is effective before Longest Road is claimed, but only if one single player has more connected roads than all other players, so, if tied, nothing happens.

rongammer wrote:

Does the epidemic last the entire year (deck) or just when that card is pulled?


Effective only for this production phase.

rongammer wrote:

If you get the "neighbor assistance" card and two players are tied for victory points (i.e. both have the same number of VP's), do both players pass cards to the poorer players?


Yes, that's why it says "the player(s) with the most victory points".
But there is another difference (we definitely have to sort this out): The German cards says, the player(s) with the most victory points give 1 resource to any 1 opponent with fewer victory points, not to all players with fewer victory points.

Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.