Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Need help with Merchant Raids rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eduardo Cominguez
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I read an read page 10, but I can not understand how this rule works.

Could someone explain it to me using an example? Please.

I am not great with English, so it can happen that I am missing something (that is why an example could work).

It says that after get a success against Seamanship of the captain, I can draw a new card and use it changing one of the three cards I took before.
Then it says that after other success with the seamanship,I can do the same, or something else...
How many times can/must I test against seamanship of my captain? I couldn't find that info, and... I am also confused with what to do when I succeed with the seamanship test.

Thanks a lot.
Eduardo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
On The Wagon!
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
As you guide your cursor over the blue avatar a strange feeling of dread comes over you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


You only roll the seamanship once. The number of successes (skulls) you get on that roll is how many "adjustments" you can make to the cargo cards you drew.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Example 1:

Your captain has Seamanship 3. Your ship is a Sloop (undamaged with no upgrades so its condition is Hull:2, Cargo:2, Masts:2, Crew:2, Cannons:1). And you have all 3 special weapons (Chain-shot, Grapeshot and Grappling Hook).

After you have found the merchant in a scouting action and choosen the nationality of your victim, you get to the merchant raid.

1) Draw 3 cargo cards. You draw:

[Food, 3 gold, Escape], [Sugar, 3 gold, Hull], [Texstiles, 4 gold, Escape]

2) Now roll your Seamanship. You get: Skull, 3, 2.

Now you must decide how many (if any) of your two failed die you want to upgrade to a succes using special weapons. Since you had a good draw you decide to upgrade both and so use 2 of your special weapons (you decide that chain-shot would be most usefull in case you are attacked, so you use the 2 other weapons).

So now your seamanship roll from before becomes: Skull, Skull, Skull

3) Use your successes. Your goal is 12+ gold and for that one more card is needed. So you use 1 Skull for that and draw [Textiles, 5 gold, Cannon]. Now this would give you 3+3+4+5= 15 gold. But you would also take 1 damage to Cannons giving you a destroyed location and so a fail raid. So that card has to go away again. You use 1 Skull to exchange the [Textiles, 5 gold, Cannon], so you discard that and draw a new card. You get [Cocoa, 4 gold, Escape].
Since your Sloop has Maneuverability 4 it is okay with 3 Escape-icons. So now you would get 3+3+4+4= 14 gold, 2 of the cargo cards and 1 damage to Hull.

You have 1 skull left you could use. Discarding a card or exchanging one would not make sence (you would already get the 12+ gold). And to get one more card would be very risky - if you get either Escape, Cannon or Hull the raid would fail (and if it was the Hull your ship would sink!).
And the combined chance of either one of these is around 70%.

So you end the raid. Result: 1 damage to Hull (move that cube 1 space to the left), 2 special weapons used - but you get 14 gold and 2 cargo cards (you pick Cocoa and Food, since both are "in demand" nearby, but you are not yet sure which port to go for). And 1 Glory Point + 1 Glory Card .
11 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Example 2:

Your captain has Seamanship 2. Your ship is a Sloop (undamaged with no upgrades so its condition is Hull:2, Cargo:2, Masts:2, Crew:2, Cannons:1). And you have all 3 special weapons (Chain-shot, Grapeshot and Grappling Hook).

After you have found the merchant in a scouting action and choosen the nationality of your victim, you get to the merchant raid.

1) Draw 3 cargo cards. You draw:

[Food, 3 gold, Crew], [Spices, 1 gold, Crew], [Wood, 2 gold, Escape]

2) Now roll your Seamanship. You get: 3, 2.

This is no good. If you do nothing you would take 2 damage to Crew and the raid will fail. But this is quite a bad draw, so it is not worth it to upgrade both. So you use the Grappling Hook to upgrade 1 die.

So now you have: Skull, 2 (it doesn't matter which die you upgrade)

3) Use you 1 success. You must get rid of one card with "Crew" on it. The safe option is simply to dicard one - and of course choose the one with just 1 gold. This would give you 3+2= 5 gold, 1 damage to crew, Food and Wood cargo cards.
The bold (or risky ) move is to exchange the card. You risk getting a failed raid, but the odds are on your side, since you only have to avoid getting "Cannon" or "Crew" (around 10% chance for each of those making 8/10 cards good for you).

So you exchange the [Spices, 1 gold, Crew]. And you get [Food, 2 gold, Escape]. This is fine since you now get 3+2+2= 7 gold and can pick 2 cargo (especially good since Food is in demand nearby).

That ends the raid. Result: 1 damage to Crew, 1 special weapon used - you get 7 gold and 2 Food cargo cards. But no Glory point + Glory Card .
8 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Reed
Canada
Ancaster
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great Examples
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Example 3:

Continue from example 2.

Your captain still has Seamanship 2 (of course). Your ship is a Sloop (damaged with no upgrades so its condition is Hull:2, Cargo:2, Masts:2, Crew:1, Cannons:1). And you have 2 special weapons (Chain-shot, Grapeshot).

After you have found the merchant in a scouting action and choosen the nationality of your victim, you get to the merchant raid.

1) Draw 3 cargo cards. You draw:

[Cocoa, 4 gold, Escape], [Food, 3 gold, Masts], [Texstiles, 4 gold, Escape]

2) Now roll your Seamanship. You get: Skull, Skull.

With both dice a success, you cannot use special weapons for upgrades this time.

3) Use your 2 successes. You can freely use 1 Skull to draw a new card, since you can just get rid of it again with the 2nd Skull. So you draw one more card and get [Tobacco, 2 gold, Cannons].

This is no good as the "Cannons" would make the raid fail. So either you must discard it or make an exchange.

The bold (or risky ) move is to exchange the card. You risk getting a failed raid, but the odds are still on your side, even if they are slightly worse than in "Example 2". You now have to avoid getting "Masts", "Crew" or "Cannons" (around 10% chance for each of those making 7/10 cards good for you). Remember "Crew" is still at 1 from the raid in "Example 2".

So you exchange the [Tobacco, 2 gold, Cannons]. And you get a [Sugar, 4 gold, Masts]. Quite bad (minor disaster really ). You would make the 12+ gold (with 15 gold in all), but instead you take 2 damage to "Masts" and the raid fails.

Result: 2 damage to "Masts" (destroying that location), no special weapons used. No gold, cargo, Glory Point or Glory Card .

Since you cannot start merchant raids with a destroyed location (and are also very vulnerable to other ships), you must find a port to do repairs as fast as possible.

That ends my examples .

Example 3 above is one instance where you really could use either the ship upgrade "Hull" or a Glory Card like "Cannon Re-rolls". If you flip the "Hull" token or play the card to ignore 1 damage to your "Masts" the raid would become a success. You would then get 15 gold, 2 cargo cards and 1 Glory Point + 1 Glory Card (besides just 1 damage to your "Masts" location).
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
On The Wagon!
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
As you guide your cursor over the blue avatar a strange feeling of dread comes over you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


oops !

I forgot the special weapon "trick" !

shake

Thankfully Carsten came through !
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Cominguez
Argentina
Buenos Aires
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Every answer was great!,
First... I misunderstood "success". I thought that success was at least to have one skull, I didn't understand that if you have 2 skulls you have two success.

Second... With those 3 samples, I learn not only what I asked but a lot more!!!, even some clues to play it better. Great samples!!!.

Thanks a lot. Great to have this forums, I remember when I was young, more than 30 years ago, when I didn't understand a rule, the game turn useless.

Eduardo.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
ecominguez wrote:
First... I misunderstood "success". I thought that success was at least to have one skull, I didn't understood that if you have 2 skulls you have two success.


Quite an understandable mistake, since both are used in the game for different types of roll.

In general (what I can think of) how many Skulls you get matters in combat (also pips on "failed" dice counts here), merchant raids and storms (and also with one mission and a few glory cards).

Some rolls you just need to pass and so one Skull is enough. I think they are all "peacefull" activities (some might lead to combat, but in themself they are peacefull).
Like scouting, sailing a big ship into Bridgetown undamaged, hirering new crew (just one Skull will get you a full crew), getting rumors and proving them to be true or false, taking on missions, completing some missions, "sneaking" into Port Royal, the effects of some glory cards (getting specialists for free or avoiding some cards played on you).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.