Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Limitations on Ranged? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
black spark
msg tools
"A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller
as an attacker against enemies that are engaged with other players.
A character can declare ranged attacks against these targets while
its owner is declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks
that are declared by other players. In either case, the character
must exhaust and meet any other requirements necessary to make
the attack." -LotR:LCG rulebook, page 24


I'm concerned that I may be misinterpreting the above statement, or perhaps
taking it too literally. There are two situations I want to check on.


1) Player A has Legolas and a Horseback Archer (two ranged characters).
If Player A uses Legolas to initiate an attack in Player B's play area,
can the Horseback Archer participate in this attack?
(My concern is that the Horseback Archer would participate in an attack
that was declared by its own controller rather than by another player.)

2) Player A has Legolas, Player B has a Silverlode Archer (a ranged
character), and there is a Goblin Archer (from the Khazad-dum expansion)
in the staging area. (The Goblin Archer has the text, "Characters with
ranged are eligible to attack Goblin Archer while it is in the staging area.")
If Player A uses Legolas to initiate an attack against the Goblin Archer
in the staging area, can the Silverlode Archer participate in this attack?
(My concern is that the attack is not being made against an enemy
engaged with a player.)


Any feedback would be appreciated.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wally Jones
United States
Windermere
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A. Yes. Each player gets to decide how and who his characters attack.

B. They will each attack individually during each players attack phase. They do not attack together unless they are from the same player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Worcester
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with Rygel on 1.

2 is an interesting situation, and I don't think I've seen it addressed anywhere. Rygel - do you have a source that led you to that conclusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greysbull
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think #1 is incorrect. You can't initiate a ranged attack against an enemy engaged to another player. That player needs to initiate the attack using one of his characters, then you can declare any amount of ranged characters to help on the attack.

Regarding #2, since the enemy isn't engaged to any player yet, I think Legolas and Silverlode archer would attack the goblin separately.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Worcester
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marcusnc wrote:
I think #1 is incorrect. You can't initiate a ranged attack against an enemy engaged to another player. That player needs to initiate the attack using one of his characters, then you can declare any amount of ranged characters to help on the attack.


I should have been more specifice. See pg. 3 of the FAQ v 1.2.

A player may declare ranged attacks against an enemy engaged with another player, as long as it is that player's turn to declare attackers. Alternately, he can participate in attacks declared by other players using his own characters that have the Ranged keyword.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greysbull
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
polychrotid wrote:
marcusnc wrote:
I think #1 is incorrect. You can't initiate a ranged attack against an enemy engaged to another player. That player needs to initiate the attack using one of his characters, then you can declare any amount of ranged characters to help on the attack.


I should have been more specifice. See pg. 3 of the FAQ v 1.2.

A player may declare ranged attacks against an enemy engaged with another player, as long as it is that player's turn to declare attackers. Alternately, he can participate in attacks declared by other players using his own characters that have the Ranged keyword.



I'm pretty new to the game (1 month or so), so I'm probably wrong. Anyway, I still think that the FAQ wasn't talking about combat initiation.
There's a difference between declaring a ranged character as an attacker against an enemy engaged to another player and declaring a ranged character to be initiating an attack against an enemy engaged to another player.
In my opinion, the combat initiation should always be done by the player currently engaged to the enemy. If that player doesn't have a ready character to attack the engaged enemy, nobody else on the table can attack that enemy.

Sorry if I'm wrong, I'm just trying to help... blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Worcester
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marcusnc wrote:
polychrotid wrote:
marcusnc wrote:
I think #1 is incorrect. You can't initiate a ranged attack against an enemy engaged to another player. That player needs to initiate the attack using one of his characters, then you can declare any amount of ranged characters to help on the attack.


I should have been more specifice. See pg. 3 of the FAQ v 1.2.

A player may declare ranged attacks against an enemy engaged with another player, as long as it is that player's turn to declare attackers. Alternately, he can participate in attacks declared by other players using his own characters that have the Ranged keyword.



I'm pretty new to the game (1 month or so), so I'm probably wrong. Anyway, I still think that the FAQ wasn't talking about combat initiation.
There's a difference between declaring a ranged character as an attacker against an enemy engaged to another player and declaring a ranged character to be initiating an attack against an enemy engaged to another player.
In my opinion, the combat initiation should always be done by the player currently engaged to the enemy. If that player doesn't have a ready character to attack the engaged enemy, nobody else on the table can attack that enemy.

Sorry if I'm wrong, I'm just trying to help... blush


Yeah, that's not right. You can most certainly attack enemies engaged withanother player using ranged characters even if that player has no ready characters.

Rules, pg 24 wrote:
A character with the ranged keyword can be declared by its controller as an attacker against enemies engaged  with  other players. A character can declare ranged attacks against these targets while its owner is declaring attacks, or it can participate in attacks declared by other players. In either case, the character must exhaust and meet any other requirements necessary to make the attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greysbull
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, it looks like I have been playing incorrectly since the beginning... lol...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
black spark
msg tools
Looks like these were good questions for me to ask!
So ranged characters can participate in attacks initiated by other
players; I have one follow up question related to this.

Player A controls Legolas and Player B controls the Silverlode Archer.
If Player A uses Legolas to initiate an attack against an enemy
in Player B's play area, can the Silverlode Archer participate in this attack?
(I'm pretty sure he can't, because the Silverlode Archer would then
be using his ranged keyword to participate in an attack in his own
play area, but I'd like to confirm this.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Howard
United States
Marina del Rey
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
black spark wrote:
Looks like these were good questions for me to ask!
So ranged characters can participate in attacks initiated by other
players; I have one follow up question related to this.

Player A controls Legolas and Player B controls the Silverlode Archer.
If Player A uses Legolas to initiate an attack against an enemy
in Player B's play area, can the Silverlode Archer participate in this attack?
(I'm pretty sure he can't, because the Silverlode Archer would then
be using his ranged keyword to participate in an attack in his own
play area, but I'd like to confirm this.)


You are right in that the Silverlode Archer cannot participate in this attack. In this situation, simply wait until Player B's turn to attack, declare an attack against the enemy with Silverlode Archer, then Player A can have Legolas participate in that attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.