Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dungeon Command: Heart of Cormyr» Forums » Rules

Subject: Half-Orc Thug rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alexander Juri
Germany
München
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
There was one question, which came up in our last session.
Is there a target required, when firing an explosive bolt?
There was a drow standing outside los, but if the thug could place his bolt on an empty square, the explosion would have hit that drow. Is this possible or is it required to aim at a creature?

Thanks for clearing up!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Id say no, but thats not offical, certain spell cards say pick sqr butattacks even area ones must be to a model
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Bungartz
Germany
Bornheim
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I say NO.
Please read the Paragraf at page 13 ATTACKING.
You must choose a target Creature (Not a target Square).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Juri
Germany
München
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thank you very much!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Scheidler
United States
Peterborough
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Gigamic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
magicm wrote:
I say NO.
Please read the Paragraf at page 13 ATTACKING.
You must choose a target Creature (Not a target Square).


This is correct. Unless a targeting effect states "target square", it will always have to target a creature.

The interesting example is in relation to cover rules... a creature with cover can tap to evade damage from the attack, but adjacent creatures will be affected by any AOE from the attack whether they were in cover or not and can't tap to evade because they were not the target of the attack (they can still cower or use other responses).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tamas Szabadi
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So when the Half-Orc fires to one 1x1 target, then all 8 squares around the target will be affected by the aoe.

XXX
XOX
XXX

And when the target is 2x2, then all 12 squares are affacted by the explosion.
Is this correct (However a little strange)?

XX XX
XOOX
XOOX
XX XX

And just to confirm, this will damage creatures of both players, am I right? So if one of my allies are beside the target enemy creature then my ally will be damaged too?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tamas Szabadi
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Anybody?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric R
msg tools
Yes on both points. With a large target creature it effects a larger area, and if friendly creatures are in the area of effect it hurts them too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.