Game Junkie
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
This is a stupid/obvious question, but anyway...

Can you build one track starting from an impenetrable mountain hex without finishing the link? I suppose not, since the track does not begin or end in a town/city.

For example, in the image below, Red and Black have built track tiles with mountain hexes at both ends. These tracks are illegal, correct?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AlbaN ViarD
France
Bourgogne
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These tracks are legal
The sherpa action will be in high demand !
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Game Junkie
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Thanks for the quick reply, Alban.

We only played the Tibet map once, but two players were competing for the Sherpa role each turn and complaining about how few sherpa discs there were (8 in a 4-player game).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nabla wrote:
These tracks are legal
The sherpa action will be in high demand !

How does the Sherpa action help you build track? The image shows several track segments (red track in southwest, black track in southeast) connected to nothing but impenetrable mountains ... there is no legal way to build those using the basic rules. The Track Building rules for Tibet don't seem to allow them either!

So I think one of the following must be true:
(1) You're allowed to build anywhere on the map, whether or not it's connected to a city. This is a huge change to the rules; seems unlikely.
(2) You can treat the Xs as colorless cities for track-building purposes. This is easy enough to implement, but doesn't require the Sherpa action.
(3) Like the Goods Movement rule, you can treat Xs as standard track during the Build Track step. This expands the Sherpa rule to include Track Building as well as Goods Movement. In that case, we need to know: do you discard the Sherpa disc during the track building step? Does Sherpa only allow you to use one X during this turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
snoozefest wrote:
nabla wrote:
These tracks are legal
The sherpa action will be in high demand !

How does the Sherpa action help you build track?


It doesn't but building so many connections to impenetrable hexes means people are planning on moving goods over them and thus need the Sherpa action.

snoozefest wrote:

So I think one of the following must be true:
(1) You're allowed to build anywhere on the map, whether or not it's connected to a city. This is a huge change to the rules; seems unlikely.
(2) You can treat the Xs as colorless cities for track-building purposes. This is easy enough to implement, but doesn't require the Sherpa action.
(3) Like the Goods Movement rule, you can treat Xs as standard track during the Build Track step. This expands the Sherpa rule to include Track Building as well as Goods Movement. In that case, we need to know: do you discard the Sherpa disc during the track building step? Does Sherpa only allow you to use one X during this turn?


The better way of thinking about it is that there is a ghost link in each impenetrable hex. I.e. when you build to one of those hexes, you're already connected to the city behind it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.