34 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: A question for the miniature painters among us rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glyn Allport
msg tools
Im new to boardgaming (3 months) I recently picked descent second edition up. I have noticed pictures of painted models appearing already and I would love to try it myself.

I know I will be terrible at first and was wandering if the paint jobs are permanent? could I wash the paint off with something and have a second go?

If anyone could point out some good learning resources for learning to paint that would be greatly appreciated as well.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim M-L
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The paints you are likely to use (acrylics) will be removable with a little work. There is a lot of information for beginning painters in Miniature Painters Guild. You can find several relevant threads and ask more questions there.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob "Bodhi" Wolff
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I used to do more painting, and I've decided to dust off my paints and my techniques to paint up my copy of Descent 2.0 as well.

If you want to skip my rant, go straight to Army Painter and look up their Quickshade tutorials ... http://www.thearmypainter.com/

I am a basic painter, at best, but over the years I've picked up any and every trick I could that cheated and made my poor paintjob look better than it actually was. The thing is, the tricks I used a decade ago have turned into a well-known series of legitimate painting techniques, along with cool products to support them! You can now just buy the stuff to make your paintjobs look good!

Here is what you do ...

1. Clean up all flash, extra garbage, and excess plastic from the miniatures. (with these great Descent sculpts, you can skip this step).