Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bombardment and Ancient Artifact rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Owen Compton
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Three questions that came up in the first game of TI3 that I've played in AGES!

1) If your opponent uses a DN to bombard a planet you own with a GF on and the GF is destroyed then do you maintain control of the planet?

2) The Saar claim Mecatol Rex with a Space Dock, Carrier and a GF. We later resolved Ancient Artifact and it explodes - does the Space Dock survive? If the Space Dock does survive then does the Saar player retain control of Mecatol Rex? Does this answer change if the Space Dock doesn't survive?

3) Can you claim Secret Objective VPs if you don't own your home system planets?

There were a few more but I think I hammered those out with the FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Sacred Voice wrote:
Three questions that came up in the first game of TI3 that I've played in AGES!

1) If your opponent uses a DN to bombard a planet you own with a GF on and the GF is destroyed then do you maintain control of the planet?

Unless they invade the planet with their own GFs, yes. You are not required to have GFs on the planet to maintain control.

Quote:
2) The Saar claim Mecatol Rex with a Space Dock, Carrier and a GF. We later resolved Ancient Artifact and it explodes - does the Space Dock survive? If the Space Dock does survive then does the Saar player retain control of Mecatol Rex? Does this answer change if the Space Dock doesn't survive?

The Space Dock dies; all units and ships in Mecatol Rex are destroyed. Docks aren't ships, but they ARE "units".

However, Saar still keeps control of the planet; the card doesn't cause it to go neutral, so whoever owned it will continue to own it, just without any units there.

Quote:
3) Can you claim Secret Objective VPs if you don't own your home system planets?

No (unless you are the Saar). You can only claim Public and Secret objectives if you control all planets in your home system.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Garbett
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Will Provide Statistics for Data
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Sacred Voice wrote:
The Saar claim Mecatol Rex with a Space Dock, Carrier and a GF. We later resolved Ancient Artifact and it explodes - does the Space Dock survive? If the Space Dock does survive then does the Saar player retain control of Mecatol Rex? Does this answer change if the Space Dock doesn't survive?


As the other races descended into border squabbles, Daarth Garp claimed control of the Mecatol Rex with 2 death stars and 4 destroyers--and quickly set about to build a space dock. This would give him all the power needed to ensure victory for the Imperium. The other races trembled before his power, and were at a loss as to what to do. Somehow, they dug up an old ancient artifact, and voted. The vote was to activate, Daarth had squeezed all his planets for resources and there was nothing left to represent him in the Senate. The resulting energy surge wiped out the Imperium fleet. It was just like hunting womp rats back home. Daarth's ship spun off into space---"until the sequel!!!!" he was heard to exclaim.

Thus ended my 41st birthday party.

EDIT: Swapped numbers around to make sense.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Petersen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
1)DN Bombardment requires a GF to attempt a landing on the planet, so you will lose it by virtue of the GF succeeding in the invasion. For purposes of objectives, Bombardment that destroys all GFs still counts for "Successfully invaded an enemy planet containing at least one GF".

PDS prevent DN bombardment, unless Graviton Negator is researched. So with Graviton Negator and less GFs than the number of PDS on the planet is the only situation where you can bombard all the GFs off with a DN, and not take the planet.

War Sun bombardment doesn't require a GF to attempt a landing and can go through PDS.

2 & 3) No additional comments to Sigma's post.

EDIT: Funny post, but 4 death stars? That's some mighty fine house ruling and a hekuvaloda resources!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Garbett
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Will Provide Statistics for Data
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TomBoombs wrote:
EDIT: Funny post, but 4 death stars? That's some mighty fine house ruling and a hekuvaloda resources!


Yeah, I just played yesterday and realized that there's only two per color. Hmmm, anyway, it was a pile of plastic gone in a dice roll.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.