Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spawning Monsters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Karsten Duffert
Germany
Emden
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi.

http://s7.directupload.net/file/d/2965/ztwpuzgg_jpg.htm

When the Overlord wants to spawn a Shadow Dragon in the scenario Castle Daerion at the entrance, can he spawn on the marked spaces 1-6?

Cause its the closest way to spawn the shadow dragon near the entrance.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lanz RafDE
Germany
Hamburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I know, yes. And the dragon is not even affect by the movement reduction (water) because he is not entirely positioned on the water spaces.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Overholser
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You may be misunderstanding how water works; water only has an effect on moving into those spaces, but for large monsters, if the monster's "shrunken" space moves through water, it has to pay the extra movement. (A large monster can stop next to a water space and expand into it, and next turn shrink and keep moving from the water space, however.)

Back to the OP, yes, the dragon can be placed there. The heroes need to be sure they aren't giving the OL free spaces with his monsters when they put stuff in/near the entrance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that when spawning if all spaces are occupied, the OL may spawn on the closest space. In this case, yes, the Shadow Dragon can be spawned there.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Cole
United States
Lake Jackson
Texas
flag msg tools
I thought you would just spawn the dragon on top of the knocked out hero marker... Pg 15 of the rulebook states that spaces containing knocked out tokens are empty for movement purposes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Paivinen
United States
San Jose Area
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hallgrim wrote:
I thought you would just spawn the dragon on top of the knocked out hero marker... Pg 15 of the rulebook states that spaces containing knocked out tokens are empty for movement purposes.
You can't in this specific example and encounter. The token isn't a knocked out hero; it's a villager. According to the Quest Guide, the villagers block movement and line-of-sight, and are to be considered figures. So, the space with the token is actually a blocked space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.