Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Far Seas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Merchant Capture rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Monson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 4.6.2 states: "If a German player has a ship or Squadron that qualifies to make Merchant Captures in an area, he may make captures up to the merchant shipping density number of the area."

Does this mean that a single German ship can score multiple Merchant Capture points in a segment, or do you have to have multiple ships to max out capture points?

I understand that the shipping density is per turn not segment,(and is reduced by British on convoy Duty), and once exhausted no further captures can be made that turn, but am unclear on if a single ship could clear out the shipping or if you need multiple ships in an area.

Later discussion in 4.6.2 sould seem to imply that it would take multiple ships.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wesley
Nepal
Aberdeen
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
As you've already *denoted upon*, then, a 'Naval Squadron' comprising more than a single vessel should be able to garner "up to" as many THAT "it" contained, within their "given limits". Were these more, or lesser than such, then; "oh well"?
arrrh
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Monson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Understood that a squadron can gobble up all the merchant shipping in a segment of a turn, but what about a single German cruiser in one segment?

...has a ship or Squadron that qualifies to make Merchant Captures in an area, he may make captures up to the merchant shipping density number of the area...

Emphasis added for clarity in my original question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Monson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just reread rule 6.1.1 (Optional German AMCs) ..."they can make Merchant captures; however, they are limited to one Merchant Capture per game turn, even if the shipping density is greater than one..."

This would seem to imply that a German Cruiser could make more than one per turn/segment! Any thoughts?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Whyman
United States
Danvers
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
I need more TIME
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is but one German cruiser (not AMC) then it can take any and all merchant points. But this is best viewed in conjuction with the coaling rules. This makes it advantageous NOT to take all the points at the first opportunity if there are multiple ships/squadrons that can reach that zone in later segments of the same turn. This is because a single merchant point will provide coal for an entire squadron.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Monson
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nwhyman wrote:
If there is but one German cruiser (not AMC) then it can take any and all merchant points. But this is best viewed in conjuction with the coaling rules. This makes it advantageous NOT to take all the points at the first opportunity if there are multiple ships/squadrons that can reach that zone in later segments of the same turn. This is because a single merchant point will provide coal for an entire squadron.


Excellent point, thanks for the insight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.