Thumb up
2 Posts

Carolus Magnus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Taking over territory: replace ALL of loser's Castles with equal number? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Fielding
msg tools
The English rules say:

If the majority in a territory has changed, ALL castles are removed

and replaced with castles [NOTE PLURAL] belonging to the player not in the majority in the territory

So if the loser has 3 castles, the winner swaps 1 for 1 thus placing 3 of his own castles?

Wondering if that is an accurate translation of the rule. Playing this way could make the game end very quickly.

But removing all the loser's castles and only placing 1 for the winner causes the game to become one where the end of game occurs when there are 4 territories left, as opposed to when all of a player's castles have been played.

Possibly fun to play both ways depending on how quickly you want the game to end.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Runcible Spoon
United States
flag msg tools
Gronak wrote:
So if the loser has 3 castles, the winner swaps 1 for 1 thus placing 3 of his own castles?

To the best of my knowledge the answer is yes, you swap out 3 for 3 and yes this can be a seemingly abrupt shift in power.

Of course that abrupt shift is usually preceded by multiple turns of jockeying for position on a 3 part island so the apparent abruptness is a bit more illusory. It seems rare in my experience to have a complete shift in power on an island that big with zero turns of anticipatory build-up and manipulating of the majorities in different colors. So maybe you can view it not as ending the game suddenly, more of a pinched battle right to the end.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.