Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unit upgrade question? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Thomasser
United States
Bowmansville
NY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I discover metal casting before mathematics are my artillery upgraded from level 1 to level 3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Fuentes
United States
Hialeah
FL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules for upgrades are always the same: You do not need to research intermediates, and all basic instances are upgraded to the new version. Translation: You can get level 3 units without researching level 2 first; all level 1 units will become level 3. You can get upgraded structures (for example, Banks) without researching basic structures (for example, Markets) beforehand, but if you do have any markets they'll become banks.

AFTER you upgrade, you can no longer build the low tech version (you cannot build archers when you have Metal Casting and you cannot build Markets when you have Banks).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.