Paul Craig
United Kingdom
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
I'm very new to the 'other' world of board games. In my youth I dabbled with D&D and a bit of Warhammer, but then I became a Father and I put away such things to concentrate on Ludo instead.

Now with the aid of Descent, I'm returning, and I thought I'd report from a Dad's perspective.

The reason I pre-orded Descent was on recommendation from a friend. My objective was to find something that had fantasy characters, but wasn't as complicated or free-form as D&D or Warhammer, and that stood a chance of being a hit with the kids. Getting my two boys to co-operate over something would be a rare but welcome bonus.

First, I think for this kind of game there should be two recommended ages - a supervised play age and an unsupervised play age. The FFG recommended age for this game is 14 and up. 14 might be a reasonable average age for a group of children playing this without the support of elders (adults or even older children), but for supervised play the age could be much lower.

My children are seven years, and ten years. While a few of their friends would still have trouble with Snakes & Ladders, the majority of their peers are on a par so I think they are reasonably representative. Both are good readers and we regularly play more mainstream board games as a family. Also, both are chess players, which may well be an advantage. Descent deconstructed is essentially chess on acid (a lot of acid)… with teammates and monsters. The relatively free movement (admittedly semi-constrained by the nature of the quest maps and scenarios) is liberating, and individual hero/monster movement limits become very significant.