Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Small World» Forums » Rules

Subject: Simple Conquest Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Jadaddy
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
My group of friends and I played Small World the first time last week and we only had one simple question (other than the Amazons thing) and it's about conquests.

Do you need more at least one more token than what it takes to win a region, or do you need exactly the number of tokens? For instance, a mountain region held by 3 Ratmen, can I conquer that with 6 race tokens [2 (for the region) +1 (for the mountains) +3 (for the race tokens)] or does it require 7? Reading the rules we all agreed that it seems like 6 is right, but for some reason we all felt that was wrong as you're not over-powering the race.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david landes
United States
oak hill
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6 is correct.. just enough, not more.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Laurence Parsons
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Old enough to know what's right
badge
Young enough not to choose it
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are overpowering them - that's what the "2 for the region" is for.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Jadaddy
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Riddle

Oklahoma
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
are you sure 7 is correct?
I figured 5

3 to match the ratmen and one more to beat it
and one for the mountain terrain

am I messing this up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
scout13 wrote:
are you sure 7 is correct?
I figured 5

3 to match the ratmen and one more to beat it
and one for the mountain terrain

am I messing this up?


You are. But 6 is correct. Not 5, not 7. 8 is way out.

A completely empty region needs 2 tokens to take.

A region with cardboard in it needs the base 2 plus one unit for each piece of cardboard present.


So, 3 Ratmen on a Mountain, in addition to being an awesome rock band name, also would require 6 troops to conquer - the base two, plus four for the count of present cardboard (3 rats + 1 mountain).
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Riddle

Oklahoma
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ok, I've been playing wrong then, I figured one for an empty spot
thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
thatmarkguy wrote:

You are. But 6 is correct. Not 5, not 7. 8 is way out.


I'm sorry what number do I count to before i lobith thy Shiny Orb?

scout13 wrote:
ok, I've been playing wrong then, I figured one for an empty spot
thanks


Don't worry this is a very common error. However it does radically change the game and there are a bunch of session reports where people who play this rule wrong complain its too chaotic and unbalanced so if you didn't like your experience make sure to try the game again with the right rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Crespi
Italy
Bologna
Italy
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thatmarkguy wrote:
So, 3 Ratmen on a Mountain, in addition to being an awesome rock band name,

You made my day man.

thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Riddle

Oklahoma
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
we thoroughly enjoyed our game the way we played it, but I wanted to make sure we play it right

and yes 3 Ratmen on a Mountain would make a great band name
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bohm
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
Easy way to remember: it's 2 + 1 for each piece of cardboard
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Mack
United States
Santa Fe Springs
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / Yucata User
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"2 plus the stack [of cardboard chits, whatever they may be]"
Check out the player's aid for new players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rumaley
United States
Williamsburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
bandit_boy7 wrote:
"2 plus the stack [of cardboard chits, whatever they may be]"
Until and unless you've added expansions, and the cardboard chits be coin-shaped things left by Gypsies or Leprechauns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fernando Robert Yu
Philippines
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Never Knows Best wrote:
Easy way to remember: it's 2 + 1 for each piece of cardboard


Yeah, that's how I explain it as well...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Wilson
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PhygLeGuy wrote:
bandit_boy7 wrote:
"2 plus the stack [of cardboard chits, whatever they may be]"
Until and unless you've added expansions, and the cardboard chits be coin-shaped things left by Gypsies or Leprechauns.


Gypsy coins don't affect conquest, as you take them back at the end of your turn. They just mark the regions you abandon so you know you can't retake them.

Leprechaun pots are a fair point, though. Also Underworld's relics and places. And the Underworld river.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rumaley
United States
Williamsburg
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
BlackSheep wrote:
Gypsy coins don't affect conquest, as you take them back at the end of your turn. They just mark the regions you abandon so you know you can't retake them.

Well, technically, the Gypsy coins violate the maxim. These regions have (at least) one piece of cardboard during the Gypsies turn, but they cannot be conquered with 2 + n tokens. So, sometimes, coin-shaped pieces of cardboard count as zero defense (Leprechauns), and other times they count as immunity tokens (Gypsies).

The rulebook, such as it is, never mentions pieces of cardboard. It always enumerates encampments, mountains, lairs, etc. The situation is un-de-confusable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Mack
United States
Santa Fe Springs
California
flag msg tools
designer
Lefty / Happily Married / Parent of 2 Girls / Christian / Yucata User
badge
Smack dat Ghoulie, Mr. Trolla!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BlackSheep wrote:
PhygLeGuy wrote:
bandit_boy7 wrote:
"2 plus the stack [of cardboard chits, whatever they may be]"
Until and unless you've added expansions, and the cardboard chits be coin-shaped things left by Gypsies or Leprechauns.


Gypsy coins don't affect conquest, as you take them back at the end of your turn. They just mark the regions you abandon so you know you can't retake them. Leprechaun pots are a fair point, though.

I don't put relics, places, coins, or pots-of-gold in the "stack", as they have (generally) nothing to do with the defense of the region. I don't stack all cardboard chits in a region, together.

BlackSheep wrote:
Also Underworld's relics and places. And the Underworld river.

Um...this isn't an Underground forum, so I didn't feel the need to cover those bases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.