Subject: Hive versus Chess rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: why_is_this_posted_in_General_Gaming? [+] [View All]
David B
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Much has been said by Hive fans that the game provides an alternative to chess. Hive does not require the endless hours of boring book study, it's portable, it's quicker, and (according to many) more fun than chess. I have been playing chess now for well over 30 years, and I have grown tired of the book study and LONG games, but I still enjoy chess games with an hour or less on each players clock. Hence, I am always interested when a game comes out that purports to fill the chess void when a gamer wants to avoid the study, practice, and commitment that chess requires. I find that Blokus and Torres are two excellent substitutes for chess if I cannot or do not want to get a chess board to the table. Hive, however, does not foot the bill for me. I do not see the addictive lure of Hive and I haven't gotten an overly receptive response form those I have introduced to the game. Even though the game usually lasts under ten minutes, I am ready to put it up and play something else after one game. Its just....meh. I have also heard that after a couple hundred plays, if two players of equal skill are facing off, player 1 is assured of at least a draw. This is at times true of chess as well when you get to a certain level (depending on the choice of openings), but I am not at that level and neither is anyone I play against. So I guess what I am saying is that there ARE games out there that seem to scratch the chess itch. Hive just does not seem to be up for it.

Are there any chess players out there that have turned to Hive instead?

Alternately, what games do you find provide a good substitute for chess?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge