BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » General Gaming

Subject: new to gaming rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
silver pipper
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
I was wondering what the most essential games were to own are, I am looking to create my own game room. I am a girl who is brand new to games, i have ben dating a man for a year who is very into games of all kinds especially rpg games. I enjoy dice games, but i do not know where to start. So what are your all time favorite games. I am looking for games that are a bit harder to find than the generic hasbro and games found in the basic toy isle.

Any game level would be appreciated
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nancy Ann
United States
California
flag msg tools
Settlers of Catan
Carcassonne

These are two great games that I was first introduced to when I started playing games and they are very different than your regular Hasbro type games and lots and lots of fun. Great for beginners I think.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Falconer
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ticket to Ride (Europe is my favorite) Its a great starting gamekiss

Formula D is good, but it is better with more people.ninja

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Gormley
United States
Northborough
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
I'm a lover of all things heavyweight strategy!
mbmbmbmbmb
Ticket to Ride is sort of the go to Intro game, and can be found for $50 at Target or much cheaper anywhere that sells hobby games.

If either of you have ever played M:tG, then I'd rec. Dominion or Quarriors, which is along the same lines but uses dice.