Ivo Hunink
Netherlands
Utrecht
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I'm using the Dutch release of Ystari games which has Dutch rules included. The setup part of the rules states:

In Dutch: "Iedere speler plaatst 1 markeersteen op de volgordetabel, een andere op de brug, en ook een op iedere 'fleur-de-lises' die de gunst van de koning symboliseren"

This is similar to the English rules:

In English: "Each player puts one marker next to the
turn order scale, and another on the bridge, close to the passing scale, and places a marker on each of the four fleur-de-lises symbolizing the King’s favor."


Then, the Dutch rules from Ystari Games say (translated to Enlish): "Whenever a player earns a favor, they must choose a line at once, and, if it is possible, advance their marker to the right. Then, the player can use the favor of the column his marker just left."

The bold part differs from the English rules which state: "Whenever a player earns a favor, they must choose a line at once, and, if it is possible, advance their marker to the right. Then, the player can use one of the effects provided on the chosen line, between level 1 and the level currently indicated by the marker."

This rises four related questions with me:
Question 1: What do they mean with "... between level 1 and the currently indicated by the marker." Does this mean that when the marker is on the residence favor, you can't yet build it?
Question 2: Does the marker actually start on the 'fleur-de-lises', resulting that the first favor will be nothing because you first have to move it from the 'fleur-de-lises' to the first favor, and between the 'fleur-de-lises' and the first favor there is nothing?
Question 3: If the answer to question 1 is yes, does the marker then end outside the favor track so you can use the last item as well? (level 5 is then between level 1 and the marker).
Question 4: So what option is correct:
- Use the favor the marker just left.
- Use a favor between level 1 and the marker, but not on including the favor on which the marker stands
- Use a favor between level 1 and the marker, but on including the favor on which the marker stands

Thank you in advance for your time and answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Train gamer, Euro gamer and War gamer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Favor starting point on the first favor field or the 'fleur-de-lises'?
- Use a favor between level 1 and the marker, including the favor on which the marker stands

start on the fleur-de-lises

Example:

-when using the resources favor track the first time, move your marker from the fleur-de-lises to the food cube spot and take a food. Second time, move to the wood/stone spot, and take your choice of wood or stone. However, you could in this example alternatively take a food cube again, even though you moved your marker onto the wood/stone spot on the favor track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bradshaw
United Kingdom
Newcastle Upon Tyne
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Favor starting point at the first favor field or the 'fleur-de-lises'?
In addition to the answers above, the examples in the rulebook should make it very clear. When you advance along a track you can use the action in the new space moved into, or any previous action already passed through on that line. When the marker is on the rightmost space of the track you may still choose that track - the marker stays where it is and you can choose any of the options on that line.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexandru Stanuta
Romania
Berceni
ILFOV
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Favor starting point at the first favor field or the 'fleur-de-lises'?
IvoHunink wrote:
Question 4: So what option is correct:
- Use a favor between level 1 and the marker, but on including the favor on which the marker stands

This is correct!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Moore
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: Favor starting point at the first favor field or the 'fleur-de-lises'?
What they say. I agree, the Dutch version can't be interpreted that way, so it is WRONG with a vengence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivo Hunink
Netherlands
Utrecht
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thank all for your comments/answers. The Dutch rules are certainly incorrect. I added this as well to the title of this thread.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.