Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: List of situations where "attacker first" matters. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rich
United States
Plymouth
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As a new player, I was confused as to how the attacker resolving first really mattered during battle, given that fate cards were resolved "simultaneously". To help other new players, or as a reference for seasoned ones that don't wish to devote any brain-space for it, I'm beginning a list of units and situations that cause that order to be important.

1) Beserkers - As referenced in the official FAQ, beserkers require standing units to use their special ability. An attacker that uses a special ability that causes beserkers to retreat or rout prevents its use.

2) Flesh Rippers - An attacker that uses a special ability that does damage (such as Latari Archers) does so before the Flesh Rippers get the bonus to defenses, thus causing them to have 1 health for the purpose of the attacker's special ability regardless if they drew an orb.

3) Neutral Sorcerer - Same situation as Flesh Ripper.

4) Dark Knight - If the attacker's special ability routs, retreats, or destroys a unit that causes the number of types of units involved in the battle to be reduced, the Dark knight's ability is affected.

5) Reanimates - Since the reanimates special ability only works when at least 2 of them are active, if the attacker reduces their number to 1 before they act it invalidates the action.

Note: "Conscription of the Guard" Tactics card could affect defending Dark Knights. The "Valor of Heroes" Tactics card could affect defending Berserkers. And the "Thorn in their Side" Commander card could potentially affect ANY of the defending "standing units required" abilities when paired with many of the other Initiative 5 unit abilities.

EDIT1: 8/6/2012 - Sigmazero13 adds case 5 and note on tactics cards.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shadow ruxer
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Stacking" is also an important thing that the offense can do. Which is putting more than 8 units into battle in one hex!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the_shadow447 wrote:
"Stacking" is also an important thing that the offense can do. Which is putting more than 8 units into battle in one hex!

True, but that's not what this thread is referring to It's referring to situations where the attacker resolving his Special Ability first can matter during a round of combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich
United States
Plymouth
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as I can tell, the attack order only matters in the special ability phase of an initiative round as routs and damage always play out regardless of the number of active units.

@Shadow: On a related note, do not forget you can retreat down to 8 on a successful attack. This is not true on a successful defense, but would only happen with Undead Necromancers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CrazyRich428 wrote:
As far as I can tell, the attack order only matters in the special ability phase of an initiative round as routs and damage always play out regardless of the number of active units.

That is correct. Damage and Routs will always take effect, even if the units are killed or routed during that round. It only matters for Special Abilties, and then only if the defender's Special Ability requires a certain number of "standing" units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Incidentally, there's another one to add to your list in the original post:

Reanimates; since the Reanimate ability only triggers if there are 2 standing Reanimates left, if an attacking Latari Warrior, Daqan Roc, or Dragon causes damage with their Special Ability such that there are less than 2 Reanimates left, then the Reanimate ability won't fire.

Also, the "Conscription of the Guard" Tactics card could affect defending Dark Knights. The "Valor of Heroes" Tactics card could affect defending Berserkers. And the "Thorn in their Side" Commander card could potentially affect ANY of the defending "standing units required" abilities when paired with many of the other Initiative 5 unit abilities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.