Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card sequence question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
cosined
United States
Walpole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Can I play:

After committing to a Quest, Eyes of the Forrest was revealed.
In response can I play Dwarven Tomb to return A Test of Will to my hand, and then immediately play Test of Will to cancel Eyes of the Forrest?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. There is no action window between revealing an encounter card and resolving the When Revealed effect.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cosined
United States
Walpole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Then how would one play A Test of Will on its own?

Quote:
Event
Response: Cancel the "when revealed" effects of a card that was just revealed from the encounter deck.


If A Test of Will requires an action phase to be used? What precludes me from doing two actions during that phase?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Duke Of Lizards
United States
Montpelier
Vermont
flag msg tools
Livin's mostly wasting time, and I waste my share of mine
badge
I am a breathing time machine
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, Dwarven Tomb is an Action: card. A Test of Will is a Response:. If you take an action, you're no longer responding to the When Revealed effect.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie Riehl
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Play the Tomb in your planning phase. Be prepared!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Speaking of action windows.

It is true, that I cannot play any action cards in the combat phase between choosing the first opponent to fight and resolving all my attacks, right?

I had this case today, when I had Unexpected Courage and then noticed, that I probably cannot use the hero to both defend and attack on the same phase.

Bye
Thanee
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim D
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you can: see page 30 and 31 of the rulebook. Combat is mostly green.
The first line being red means you cannot take actions between dealing the first shadow card and the last shadow card.

Example: if you have 3 shadow cards to deal, denethor cannot let you deal 2 and then before dealing the third, look at it and put it on the bottom.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cosined
United States
Walpole
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
polychrotid wrote:
No, Dwarven Tomb is an Action: card. A Test of Will is a Response:. If you take an action, you're no longer responding to the When Revealed effect.


Ok that was the distinction I was missing.

Game Karma was enacted, I lost the following turn anyways.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thanee
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quit and nuts wrote:
I think you can: see page 30 and 31 of the rulebook. Combat is mostly green.


Oh, I see!

I thought you can only use actions during those stages labeled "player actions".

Ok, that makes it a bit easier with actions available during combat.

Thank you for the clarification!

Bye
Thanee
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.