Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Kingdom of Heaven: The Crusader States 1097-1291» Forums » Rules

Subject: Demobilization and Crusader Leaders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Moore
England
Birmingham
flag msg tools
designer
badge
'This War Without an Enemy'
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly how does Demobilization work for an army in which the ranking leader is a Crusader? Let me give a couple of examples:

1) A Crusader Leader with a Command Rating of 4 is in a space with 3 Crusader units and a non-Crusader unit. It is clear that the Crusader Leader and units do not demobilize. But what about the non-Crusader unit?

2) A Christian army is besieging a city. There is a Crusader Leader with a Command Rating of 4, 4 Crusader units, Joscelyn, and 2 Edessa units. Again it is clear that the Crusader leader and units do not demobilise. Is it correct that demobilization of Joscelyn is optional? As the Crusader Leader can retain units equal to half his command rating, can he retain the 2 Edessa units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott de Brestian
United States
Mt. Pleasant
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I gave an earlier response to a similar question that ought to make things clear. To summarize: You can ignore any leader other than the ranking leader, and any unit that doesn't have to demobilize.

So in example 1, the Crusader leader can maintain two units in the field with him. The non-Crusader unit can be one of them if otherwise commandable by the Crusader leader.

In example 2, Joscelyn, as a leader, can demobilize or remain as he wishes. The Crusader leader can potentially maintain two units in the siege, but he must roll against his battle rating to do so (16.1 bullet two -- being a Crusader leader gives him no special immunity from this roll) -- and he will be only able to keep one Edessa unit in the field, as he can command only one unit from a Power not his own (10.2.1).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Moore
England
Birmingham
flag msg tools
designer
badge
'This War Without an Enemy'
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if the Crusader leader fails to roll equal to or less than his battle rating to stay in the field over winter then what happens? Does he and the Crusader units demobilize? Or does this just mean that he cannot maintain one of the Edessa units?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerit Driessen
Netherlands
Mierlo
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Crusader units *never* demobilize...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.