Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gold vs Black Mana rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James

Brooklyn Park
Minnesota
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have finally bought the game and have played it a few times and love it... One question I am not clear on is in regards to the gold vs black mana..

Gold- can not be used during night, but can equal any color
Black- Can not be used durind day, but can allow a card to use its most powerful ability...


Isn't this the same thing?

When I play the Gold for any color, aren't I using it to power up a card?

When I play the Black, for a power up, isn't it just taking the place of the color I do not have?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Black mana cannot be used as any colour. If you look on spells, the stronger effect of them costs 2 mana - one normal colour of the spell, and a black.

Therefore, these can only be cast at night.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronald Tin
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulGrogan wrote:
Black mana cannot be used as any colour. If you look on spells, the stronger effect of them costs 2 mana - one normal colour of the spell, and a black.

Therefore, these can only be cast at night.

... or in dungeons or tomes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only use black on spells (which are a particular card type), not to power up advanced actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Valkyser
Germany
Wesseling
NRW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a somewhat related question that came up in our game yesterday:

If a card tells me to pick a die from the source and manipulate it in some way (re-roll, pick a face etc.), may I use a black die at day or a golden die at night?
(Not to use the mana just to pick the die and do what the card tells me)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tina
Germany
Köln
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I don't think so.
Because the black die is not located in the source. The black die is in the above right corner of the day/night table. And this is not anymore the source.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stephan Valkyser wrote:
If a card tells me to pick a die from the source and manipulate it in some way (re-roll, pick a face etc.), may I use a black die at day or a golden die at night?


Generally, yes, unless the effect says something different. Note that some such effects say that you must choose depleted dice.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Estolan wrote:
I don't think so.
Because the black die is not located in the source. The black die is in the above right corner of the day/night table. And this is not anymore the source.


Nowhere in the rules does it say this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Presley
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stephan Valkyser wrote:
I have a somewhat related question that came up in our game yesterday:

If a card tells me to pick a die from the source and manipulate it in some way (re-roll, pick a face etc.), may I use a black die at day or a golden die at night?
(Not to use the mana just to pick the die and do what the card tells me)


Yes you can, and generally should.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Dietz
United States
Watertown
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
When an effect says, "gain a mana token of any color (including non-basic)," can I pick and use black even if it is daytime?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jcdietz03 wrote:
When an effect says, "gain a mana token of any color (including non-basic)," can I pick and use black even if it is daytime?


You could pick black, but you can't use it unless you are in a dungeon or somewhere that lets you use black during the day.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Castrequini
Brazil
Valinhos
SP
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can gain... but you cannot spend/use it (unless you go into a dungeon/tomb).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James

Brooklyn Park
Minnesota
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.