Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » General

Subject: Woudning vs Armor Resistence vs Activated a unit? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James

Brooklyn Park
Minnesota
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I have to apply 3 wounds to a unit (went unblocked) and I have a unit with Armor 3 and Resitence... the rule book says you apply the wounds, but they are arsobed by the Resitence... Does that mean I can still activate the unit?

I think so... thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that you are correct.

With highlighting relevant to this situation:

Rulebook, p. 8, Assign Damage Phase 4. b.
Exception: If the Unit is resistant to the elements of the
attack (Physical resistance vs. regular physical Attack, Fire
Resistance vs. Fire Attack, Ice Resistance vs. Ice Attack, both
Ice and Fire Resistances vs. Cold Fire Attack):
• First, reduce amount of the damage by the Unit’s
Armor (without Wounding the Unit).
• If this absorbs all the damage, nothing happens.

• If there is any remaining damage, continue assigning
damage as usual by Wounding the Unit and reducing the
damage total by its Armor value again.
– Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb
twice as much damage as they have Armor, and are
Wounded only if the damage was greater than their
Armor.
• If a Unit is assigned damage but does not get Wounded
because of a resistance, it cannot be assigned damage
again during the same combat.


So you can't assign it damage again, but you should be able to activate it. The only restriction against activating a Unit is that it must be Ready and not Wounded, and it isn't Wounded.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Heimburger
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rocky123 wrote:
If I have to apply 3 wounds to a unit (went unblocked) and I have a unit with Armor 3 and Resitence... the rule book says you apply the wounds, but they are arsobed by the Resitence... Does that mean I can still activate the unit?

I think so... thanks!


Right. A unit with 3 armor and physical resistance, for example, will absorb 3 points of physical damage. If the damage doesn't exceed the armor, the unit remains unharmed, and is available for use.

Curses. Ninja'd.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James

Brooklyn Park
Minnesota
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilias Sellountos
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rocky123 wrote:
If I have to apply 3 wounds to a unit (went unblocked) and I have a unit with Armor 3 and Resitence... the rule book says you apply the wounds, but they are arsobed by the Resitence... Does that mean I can still activate the unit?


Assuming you mean 3 damage and not 3 wounds, my fellow posters are correct.

Also this should probably be in the Rules section.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shemar wrote:
Rocky123 wrote:
If I have to apply 3 wounds to a unit (went unblocked) and I have a unit with Armor 3 and Resitence... the rule book says you apply the wounds, but they are arsobed by the Resitence... Does that mean I can still activate the unit?


Assuming you mean 3 damage and not 3 wounds, my fellow posters are correct.

Also this should probably be in the Rules section.

Yes, that did go right past. I read it as 3 damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilias Sellountos
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume that is what the OP meant because if he was trying to assign 3 wounds to a unit he would have a very flawed understanding of wound assignment. cool
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Nedeljkovic
Serbia
Paracin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One question related to
this. If you have a monster with physical attack 4 and a unit with physical resistence and armour 3, could you let the unit soak up 3 damage and then take one wound yourself from the leftover 1 damage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lonnie H
United States
Everett
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Floating World wrote:
One question related to
this. If you have a monster with physical attack 4 and a unit with physical resistence and armour 3, could you let the unit soak up 3 damage and then take one wound yourself from the leftover 1 damage?


No. When a unit takes damage, they will take as much as they can, then any left over damage can be given to others.

Think of this as the unit stepping up to fight the enemy, and once the enemy has dealt with that unit (giving it the max damage that they can take) then the enemy will continue on to the hero....a little worn out from fighting the unit (only doing the left over damage).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MatRoc
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
actually nobody gets a wound in this case.
"Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb
twice as much damage as they have Armor, and are
Wounded only if the damage was greater than their
Armor."
So it can easily absorb the physical attack of 4
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Plei Forejoy
Singapore
flag msg tools
This space for rent!
badge
Painting all these miniatures is starting to crimp my time...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MatRoc79 wrote:
Hi,
actually nobody gets a wound in this case.
"Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb
twice as much damage as they have Armor, and are
Wounded only if the damage was greater than their
Armor."
So it can easily absorb the physical attack of 4


I think there is a misunderstanding here.

1. Normally, units can absorb damage (reducing the amount enemies dealt).
2. Each unit absorbs damage up to their Armor, and then receives a Wound (they are wounded).
3. Excess damage is then passed on to the next recipient (be they unit or player).

Resistant units in this case "can absorb twice as much damage as they have Armor". The absorption does not mean the damage would not harm them.

As the later phrase declares, the unit is "Wounded only if the damage was greater than their Armor."

In this case, the 3-Armor unit can absorb 6 (3x2) points of damage but is wounded if the damage is more than its Armor.

Case 1: less than 3 points of damage from an attack

The unit simply absorbs the damage without harm to itself. Nothing is passed on to other units or the player.

Case 2: 4 to 6 points of damage from an attack

The unit absorbs the damage and is wounded. Nothing is passed on to other units or the player.

Case 3: 6 or more points of damage from an attack

The unit absorbs the damage and is wounded. Excess damage is passed on to other units and/or the player.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom
Cullompton
Devon
flag msg tools
designer
Check out all my instructional How to Play videos at youtube.com/GamingRulesVideos
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MatRoc79 wrote:
Hi,
actually nobody gets a wound in this case.
"Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb
twice as much damage as they have Armor, and are
Wounded only if the damage was greater than their
Armor."
So it can easily absorb the physical attack of 4


This is wrong. The Unit is wounded if the damage was greater than their armour. Their armour is 3. The damage is 4, so yes, it will be wounded.

The first 3 point 'bounce off' without doing anything, the next one wounds it.

I think this is different peoples interpretation of the word 'absorb'
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom P
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmb
How exactly does "Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb twice as much damage..." relate to all this?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tparel wrote:
How exactly does "Units resistant to the given type of attack can absorb twice as much damage..." relate to all this?

That sentence in the rules is really just another way of describing the process.

If a unit with armor 3 doesn't have resistance, it can take a maximum of 3 damage (and will always be wounded) when you're figuring out where you are assigning damage. If it does have resistance, it can take a maximum of 6 damage (and will only be wounded at 4-6). So it can absorb 6 rather than its normal 3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vancouver Gamer
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
So your unit only takes a wound if damage exceeds is armor? EG if a monster deals 3 damage, and the unit has 3 armor, the unit wouldn't take any wound?

... If that's the case, I've been making the game WAY harder on myself!

If the attacks you and you have 3 armor, do you still take a wound?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
that Matt
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
I'm a quitter. I come from a long line of quitters. It's amazing I'm here at all.
badge
I can feel bits of my brain falling away like wet cake.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Metaphor_ wrote:
So your unit only takes a wound if damage exceeds is armor? EG if a monster deals 3 damage, and the unit has 3 armor, the unit wouldn't take any wound?

Only if it is resistant to the type of damage being dealt. This entire discussion is based on, for example, a fire-resistant unit being dealt fire damage.

If it isn't resistant, then the unit will take always take a wound when assigned any damage, even a single point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ilias Sellountos
United States
Henrico
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For many people the concept of "take one would and then absorb as much damage as the armor" is hard to get because most games work on the "absorb as much damage as the armor/tougness before getting wounded" concept.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.