Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Flying Colors» Forums » Rules

Subject: passing along/moving trough? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Johan Brattstrom
Sweden
flag msg tools
One more question. I dont understand the diffrens between passing along and moving thorugh, what is the diffrence? And what dose it mean in the rule book 3.6.14 diagram case sea near side? and how do you practicly move the ships sideways. side hex in front or side hex back? please help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For pass alongs, just assume that your ship is entering and occupying the same hex as the ship being passed . . . they just have exit the hexes that the ship being pass occupies.

For a pass-along, you must enter the hex from exactly behind or in front of the ship you are passing. Think of it this way: you are the captain of the passing ship coming up behind the enemy; you will have to pick whether you want to pass along the left side of the enemy, or the right side of the enemy. In either case, the rules require you to reach a hex in which you will not occupy the same hex as the enemy ship. Whichever side you choose to pass along, you may end up getting fired at by the ship you are passing, so pass along the side that's already been fired (if any) and deliver a stellar point-blank blow!

For a pass-through, you are passing perpendicular to another ship, either across the bow or the stern. If you enter the bow hex of the stationary ship, you MUST pass the bow and you MUST be facing the correct direction to carry straight through the hex on the opposite side. If you are facing the wrong way (toward the "middle" of the ship) you cannot pass-through, as you can't drive your ship through the middle of the enemy ship. So you must make sure that you are oriented to pass across the bow. As with pass-alongs, you must have enough movement to end your activation without any part of your ship overlapping a hex of the enemy ship.

Does that help, or just make it more confusing?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.