Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Sword of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Coordinated attacks and retreat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paolo D'Ulisse
Italy
ROMA
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules states that a retreating force cannot retreat into or through the space from which the attackers entered... In case of a coordinated attack, both the spaces of the primary force and of the flanking force are forbidden for the losing defender or he can retreat through the flanking force?!
Thanks...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The flanking force does not enter the battle space; therefore, the prohibition on retreat *through* the space under 12.4.1 does not apply. The retreating force is heavily penalized, though, undre 12.4.5.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo D'Ulisse
Italy
ROMA
Italy
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't enter but in some way it is partecipating in the battle... In other words the troops are deployed for battle and are attacking... And so it would be strange to allow the losing defender to escape through them...
I understood they are encircling the enemy so I would be surprised to see the enemy going through them...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
(a) the rules indicate in other ways that the flanking force does not fully join in the attack (no leader bonus, halve SPs)

(b) the designer explicitly comments on the difficulty of coordinating an attack

(c) the rules have been refined over the years and probably accurately reflect the designer's intent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.