Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Danube 20» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are Leaders "Units"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Van Vorhis
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Section 16.9 Leaders refers to leaders as being units any number of times (e.g., "Leader units represent the command structure needed to coordinate offensive action. . ."; "Leader units move through all rugged terrain. . ."); however, in VPG's demo video, Series Developer Lance McMillan states that leaders are not units. If they are not units, then how does the Austrian player "release" Charles in the A-E scenario? Or is Charles free to move at all times and not in need of being released?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're reading more into my statement on the "Peek & Play" video than was intended. What I meant was that Leaders are not "units" in the sense that they don't count towards stacking, they ignore rough terrain, they don't have combat strengths or ZOCs like normal units, etc... Now, in terms of activation for the Aspern-Essling scenario they Austrian player WILL have to use one of his release activations to get Charles to move (historically he seems to have spent most of the first day observing/coordinating activity from his headquarters rather than going down to take charge of things where the action was).

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.