BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: New Game Marketing - Help rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Katy Elizabeth
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools
Hello All! I am new to this forum, so, HI there.

I am a first time game designer and am wondering how to go about marketing a game that doesnt' yet exist in finished form.

I am working on a game that my family has used in tutoring math for the better part of 13 years. The kids and parents love playing it, as do I (mid 20 something now). It's a simple card based game.

In any case, I am a industrial and graphic designer by trade, so I have the packaging and design thing handled, and have been searching for manufacturers via recommendations and such i've found around the internet and am getting quotes.

However - to fund this game I don't really have 5k+ just sitting around for the first run, so I figured I'd do presales, spread the word, and then kickstart or something along those lines.

I was wondering if anyone here has suggestions on how to get presales when you don't have a full game set to sell. I've heard that a video using a prototype, and perhaps getting some prototypes made to send to reviewers etc, and try to start up buzz that way.

Any other suggestions would be welcome!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John "Omega" Williams
United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
First off, going self published is allways going to cost you a fair amount to print off anything but the most basic of games.

If it is a pure card game then there are two options. One is Artscow, which I am told can print off batches of cards fairly cheap.

The other is The Game Crafter. This is a print-on-Demand type assembly and can handle cards, box, rules etc.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Katy Elizabeth
United States
Nevada
flag msg tools