Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Brain Concussion Invalidity rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you get a "Brain concussion" (don't know the exact english name) as physical invalidity (= Focus -1), while having only Focus 1, does that mean, that you have focus 0 now, and cannot change your attributes any more, for the remainder of the game (unless you get rid of the concussion or raise your focus by some other means)?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Hermjard wrote:
If you get a "Brain concussion" (don't know the exact english name) as physical invalidity (= Focus -1), while having only Focus 1, does that mean, that you have focus 0 now, and cannot change your attributes any more, for the remainder of the game (unless you get rid of the concussion or raise your focus by some other means)?

Yes, that is correct. Remember that retirement is an option to get a new "improved" investigator.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Retirement?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Retirement is the game term for giving up with your current investigator and starting with a new one in an ongoing game. There are rules for that. As far as I know, you can retire, if you have at least two phyical and/or mental handicaps. You have to miss a turn, the remainder of the retirement is handled like being devoured, I assume.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you point to the rule?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course, rules of Dunwich, p. 6, third column, paragraph "Retiring Investigators".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't own Dunwich. It might be helpful to mention you are citing an expansion as we are in the core game forum.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought, that the usage of invalidities and mental illnesses is so widespread, that it's worth to post it here.

Furthermore, the game of Arkham Horror has the same symptome than other games with many expansions here (Lord of the Rings LCG, Descent, Small World etc.): noone reads the the forums of the expansions, because everyone expects to be questions posted in the "main forum", perhaps, because there is rarely a rule question, which only concerns an expansion, without any traces or generalizable questions to the basic game.

But in the end, if you don't own Dunwich, you don't own any handicap cards, and without any handicaps, you cannot retire anyways.

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick G.
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does your religion have lightsabers? Nope? Didn't think so.
badge
"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals." Agent K. Oh my what he would think of people had he known about what the internet would become.....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drmark64 wrote:
I don't own Dunwich. It might be helpful to mention you are citing an expansion as we are in the core game forum.

As they were already talking about things in expansions(injury cards) certain things should be understood. Like they might mention other expansion rules, possibly even from the same set!

That being said asking question in the AH forums is easier and gets a wider audience than just asking in the expansion forum.

Edit: Response ninja'd. Apparently great minds think alike.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
drmark64 wrote:
I don't own Dunwich. It might be helpful to mention you are citing an expansion as we are in the core game forum.

The Brain Concussion is a Dunwich card. Injuries aren't part of the base game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assumed the concussion was something that I had not yet encountered. I am sure that I am not the only one who is having this problem reading threads on Arkham Horror. It was just a bit of advice on making the rules forums more user friendly to the beginner.

Something like (from Dunwich Horror) would be helpful to me and possibly others.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
drmark64 wrote:
I assumed the concussion was something that I had not yet encountered. I am sure that I am not the only one who is having this problem reading threads on Arkham Horror. It was just a bit of advice on making the rules forums more user friendly to the beginner.

Something like (from Dunwich Horror) would be helpful to me and possibly others.

Best thing to do is to hit the red x and click on wrong forum. An admin will move it when he gets the notification.

For me, it is all Arkham and so I didn't even notice we were in the "base game" forum as opposed to Dunwich. In fact, I thought we actually WERE in Dunwich. Oh how time and space plays tricks on the mind....
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
drmark64 wrote:
I assumed the concussion was something that I had not yet encountered. I am sure that I am not the only one who is having this problem reading threads on Arkham Horror. It was just a bit of advice on making the rules forums more user friendly to the beginner.

Something like (from Dunwich Horror) would be helpful to me and possibly others.

Best thing to do is to hit the red x and click on wrong forum. An admin will move it when he gets the notification.

For me, it is all Arkham and so I didn't even notice we were in the "base game" forum as opposed to Dunwich. In fact, I thought we actually WERE in Dunwich. Oh how time and space plays tricks on the mind....
You must be mellowing dude, you always pick me up for mentioning expansion stuff in the base forum
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
mccrispy wrote:
You must be mellowing dude, you always pick me up for mentioning expansion stuff in the base forum

No, you still aggravate me!

Context context context. When someone asks an expansion-specific question, I have no issue with anyone answering that question regardless where it is at (although I may comment it is in the wrong forum if I notice).

What frustrates me is when someone is pretty obviously a newbie and asking only about basic game questions and someone comes along and floods them with all the exceptions from all the expansions. To me, that is not good question answering and just serves to confuse them. K.I.S.S. This game can be overwhelming to those who have never experienced anything like it. It can be overwhelming to those who have!

If they follow-up with a response like "well does anything change that?" then you can go give them the full answer and explain all the extra layers added in the game.

So that is my beef with answers like that.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
You must be mellowing dude, you always pick me up for mentioning expansion stuff in the base forum

No, you still aggravate me!
Thank goodness for that. Long may it continue.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.