Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to Carcassonne, and am quickly realizing that finding some of the expansions (specifically looking for River and Cult now) is going to be difficult.

Do these games ever go back into print, or am I just stuck hoping to get lucky on eBay?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Reigns
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not at least until next year as the US distribution is changing hands. I had to get River through a trade on here. As for Cult, it's hard to find at a reasonable price. Cult, Siege, and Creativity goes for around $25 when I see it and it's probably not worth it for the small handfull of tiles that comes with it.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark L
United Kingdom
Belfast
Northern Ireland
flag msg tools
badge
mb
Hi Nick, and welcome to BoardGameGeek! meeple

The English language licence for Carcassonne has recently changed hands. Rio Grande Games, who have been the English language publishers for ages, have lost the licence to Z-Man Games. (Actually, I think it technically changes hands at the end of the year.)

Because of this, RGG will not be publishing anything more for Carcassonne. Z-Man have not, as far as I know, said anything about their plans so far.

But my guess is that they will republish everything (or nearly everything), though some of the smaller ones may be consolidated into larger sets. However, we're unlikely to see much before the middle of next year.

In the meantime, Inns & Cathedrals and Traders & Builders are generally regarded as the best expansions, and should be easy enough to find. Of the small expansions, I would recommend The Phantom, which, being recent, should be easy enough to find. Most of the other expansions are fairly good, but not great IMO.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Harrison
United States
Fisher
Illinois
flag msg tools
So long ...
badge