Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Belfort» Forums » Rules

Subject: Coupla Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Tharp
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Hobby game designer, please print and play my games!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have thus far played 2 2-player games of this wonderful game, but I have a few questions. Full disclosure: I didn't play with the NPs to make learning the game a little easier on the non-gamers I was playing with and some of these situations may not arise in a game played properly...

1) Can Super Elves/Dwarves be played on resource planks such as the banker's guild to collect double reward? Same for non-resource planks such as the Recruiter's guild?

2) After a player surpasses the 50 point mark on the score track can I assume the taxes continue to increase in a similar manner, or do you actually reset to zero tax?

3) If I've placed all 12 of my property markers am I out of luck with building further? (In our game I just used another color's markers)

4) Can players place workers on planks on opponent's built properties? If not, does that mean the player has to pay the bank to place their workers on their own property?

5) In the Librarian's guild it says draw 3 and then discard one from your hand, Can your discard be from the 3 you draw? And can the 3 you draw be from the pool?

6) Regarding the property deck, do you have to pay a coin for drawing blind, or just from the pool?

Thanks for helping!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
fifisdead wrote:

1) Can Super Elves/Dwarves be played on resource planks such as the banker's guild to collect double reward? Same for non-resource planks such as the Recruiter's guild?

No. Only when you gather can they act as double. if you use one on a plank your benefit is identical as if you placed a regular worker there.

Quote:
2) After a player surpasses the 50 point mark on the score track can I assume the taxes continue to increase in a similar manner, or do you actually reset to zero tax?

I guess in 2p with a new player this is slightly more possible but still seems grossly unlikely to occur. Don't know official answer but I'd say that is a safe bet.

Quote:
3) If I've placed all 12 of my property markers am I out of luck with building further? (In our game I just used another color's markers)

Not counter Limited. Use another color.

Quote:
4) Can players place workers on planks on opponent's built properties? If not, does that mean the player has to pay the bank to place their workers on their own property?

No and Yes

Quote:
5) In the Librarian's guild it says draw 3 and then discard one from your hand, Can your discard be from the 3 you draw? And can the 3 you draw be from the pool?

Yes and No

Quote:
6) Regarding the property deck, do you have to pay a coin for drawing blind, or just from the pool?

You can either pay a coin to take one from the pool or pay a coin to randomly draw one from the top of the deck.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's an official answer for the tax after 50 points:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/8079651#8079651

senfoonglim wrote:
It's not spelled out in the rules (and should be), but it'd be add the tax in your current scoring bracket + 10.

So at 51-55, it'd be 10; at 56-60 it'd be 11, etc.

Thanks for the question!


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Jaffee
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
allstar64 wrote:
fifisdead wrote:

1) Can Super Elves/Dwarves be played on resource planks such as the banker's guild to collect double reward? Same for non-resource planks such as the Recruiter's guild?

No. Only when you gather can they act as double. if you use one on a plank your benefit is identical as if you placed a regular worker there.

Quote:
2) After a player surpasses the 50 point mark on the score track can I assume the taxes continue to increase in a similar manner, or do you actually reset to zero tax?

I guess in 2p with a new player this is slightly more possible but still seems grossly unlikely to occur. Don't know official answer but I'd say that is a safe bet.

Quote:
3) If I've placed all 12 of my property markers am I out of luck with building further? (In our game I just used another color's markers)

Not counter Limited. Use another color.

Quote:
4) Can players place workers on planks on opponent's built properties? If not, does that mean the player has to pay the bank to place their workers on their own property?

No and Yes

Quote:
5) In the Librarian's guild it says draw 3 and then discard one from your hand, Can your discard be from the 3 you draw? And can the 3 you draw be from the pool?

Yes and No

Quote:
6) Regarding the property deck, do you have to pay a coin for drawing blind, or just from the pool?

You can either pay a coin to take one from the pool or pay a coin to randomly draw one from the top of the deck.

Correct on all counts!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.