Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Lock 'n Load: Heroes of the Gap» Forums » Rules

Subject: LOS for ATGM and Tanks, 2 Support Weapons? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Cox
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Do ATGM and tanks need LOS to the target they are shooting? Or, can they shoot at something if a friendly unit has LOS to the target?

2. Can a Good Order, full-squad MMC fire two support weapons (like 2 M-60s)?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
michaeldavidcox wrote:
1. Do ATGM and tanks need LOS to the target they are shooting? Or, can they shoot at something if a friendly unit has LOS to the target?


Of course SJ is right.

It's easy to get LOS and spotting confused, at least it was for me. Then I figured out a HEX (and any units in the hex)is NOT spotted unless it meets certain criteria (has a Move Marker, or an Assault Move Marker, or a Fired Marker, or is adjacent to an enemy, or is Clear terrain, or an enemy has made a successful Spotting Attempt, etc.) In simple terms, a hex (and the units in it) are NOT spotted, unless they are Spotted. It really does not matter if an enemy unit has LOS to the hex or not.

Now, a Spotting Attempt does require the friendly unit making the attempt be able to see the hex it is attempting to spot. And a Spotting Attempt is only made for a hex (and the units in it) that is not otherwise spotted. With the exception of Indirect Fire, to fire on units in a hex, the firing unit must have LOS to the hex, and the hex must be spotted (does not have to be marked Spotted if it meets the other criteria).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cox
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How would you shoot something 50 to 60 "hexes" away in the real world? I assume the tank/ATGM would have to be on a hill or something that is higher than everything else between it and its target?

Michael
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.