Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on Shops rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian Miedel
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Hey all,

When playing the non-campaign, do you combine the Act 1 and 2 shop cards? (For example, treasure chest allows players to choose a card at random)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. You use the Act I shop deck unless you're using the super-advanced one-shot mode, in which case you use Act II.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lothar Neu
Germany
Sarstedt
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
As long as you don't use Epic Play and Expert Level it is always considered Act 1 regardless of the quest.

At least that's my interpretation of the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's pretty explicit in the rulebook:

Quote:
Epic Play
This optional rule is for players who wish to access high level Class, Shop
Item, and Overlord cards outside of a campaign setting. When using this
option, all players must agree upon a power level (listed below) after
choosing a quest. For rules on spending experience points, see “Spend
Experience Points” on page 20.

Basic Level: Follow normal setup.

Advanced Level: Each hero receives 3 experience points worth of Class
cards and 150 gold worth of Act I Shop Item cards (of their choice—
heroes may share gold). The overlord receives 4 experience points worth
of Overlord cards.

Expert Level: Each hero receives 6 experience points worth of Class cards
and 250 gold worth of Act I or Act II Shop Item cards (of their choice—
heroes may share gold). The overlord receives 8 experience points worth
of Overlord cards. The overlord uses his Act II Monster and Lieutenant
cards.

pg 19 of Descent 2nd Edition Rulebook


So if you are playing Basic or Advanced, you only use Act I treasure cards. If you are playing Expert, you use Act II.

-shnar
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Miedel
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmb
I read that and would say it is pretty NON explicit. Wouldn't you think basic play would be more 'basic'? Thus, shop cards are just shuffled and randomized?

Plus, "Follow normal setup." means absolutely nothing to me because nowhere else in the book does it say "Normal Setup-Separate the shop and remove Act 2 Items." Either way, I agree that they should be removed, I just wanted to make sure.

I'm a rule book fiend (coming from a 1st edition descent overlord) so I always want to make sure I'm not giving or taking an edge from anyone :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proto Persona
United States
N Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dracoalien007 wrote:
I read that and would say it is pretty NON explicit. Wouldn't you think basic play would be more 'basic'? Thus, shop cards are just shuffled and randomized?

Plus, "Follow normal setup." means absolutely nothing to me because nowhere else in the book does it say "Normal Setup-Separate the shop and remove Act 2 Items." Either way, I agree that they should be removed, I just wanted to make sure.

I'm a rule book fiend (coming from a 1st edition descent overlord) so I always want to make sure I'm not giving or taking an edge from anyone :-)

How does normal setup not mean the setup rules outlined in the rulebook for starting a campaign?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dracoalien007 wrote:
I read that and would say it is pretty NON explicit.


Do you mean "intuitive"? Because the rules are definitely explicit on this point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.