Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Next War: Korea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Interdiction and Bridges rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
P X
msg tools
The rule for Interdiction (23.4.4) states:
If a Strike achieves a successful result on the Interdiction Strike Table, the hex is considered interdicted. Any unit moving through that hex pays an additional +1 or +2 MPs. In addition, no road movement is allowed into, through, or out of the hex. A unit which begins ground movement in an interdicted hex must pay the additional movement cost to leave the hex.

In the terrain description for rivers it also states:
Where roads/highways cross the river hexsides, a Bridge is assumed to exist. Bridges negate the additional MPs for crossing river hexsides.

By both these rules it seems that while a road may cross a river hex-side, doing so does not require 'road movement'. Therefore interdicting a bridge can't really be done (ie, make you opponent take the +2 move for crossing a river along with the other penalties for interdiction). Does that ring true?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
Ballwin
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
primarchx wrote:
The rule for Interdiction (23.4.4) states:
If a Strike achieves a successful result on the Interdiction Strike Table, the hex is considered interdicted. Any unit moving through that hex pays an additional +1 or +2 MPs. In addition, no road movement is allowed into, through, or out of the hex. A unit which begins ground movement in an interdicted hex must pay the additional movement cost to leave the hex.

In the terrain description for rivers it also states:
Where roads/highways cross the river hexsides, a Bridge is assumed to exist. Bridges negate the additional MPs for crossing river hexsides.

By both these rules it seems that while a road may cross a river hex-side, doing so does not require 'road movement'. Therefore interdicting a bridge can't really be done (ie, make you opponent take the +2 move for crossing a river along with the other penalties for interdiction). Does that ring true?


Hmmm...I can see an argument either way, but I'd have to say that no road movement in, through, or out means you can't use the bridge either.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P X
msg tools
I would agree. It makes protecting your bridges from interdiction all the more important, like parking an HQ on one to add to air defense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.