Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about combat and damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Jones
msg tools
mbmb
During combat when assigning damage based on the rules it appears that the player that recieve the damage decides which unit gets the damage, considering this is the first initiation and first round, can the player choose any unit he wants (any unit in the battle, not just the current round / initiation)? Does it make sense to give damage to your strongest unit so that the small units are protected?

Another point that seems weird, is that during battle the strongest unit seems to draw only one card (if I have only one type of that unit) for example one unit in initiation 5 vs a unit in initiation 1, and although it is the strongest unit it seems to apply the same amount of damage a weak unit can give… is this normal? Am I missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arkard
msg tools
mbmb
m_peretz wrote:

During combat when assigning damage based on the rules it appears that the player that recieve the damage decides which unit gets the damage, considering this is the first initiation and first round, can the player choose any unit he wants (any unit in the battle, not just the current round / initiation)? Does it make sense to give damage to your strongest unit so that the small units are protected?

Another point that seems weird, is that during battle the strongest unit seems to draw only one card (if I have only one type of that unit) for example one unit in initiation 5 vs a unit in initiation 1, and although it is the strongest unit it seems to apply the same amount of damage a weak unit can give… is this normal? Am I missing something?

You have to note that the big units use the hexagon symbol in the fate card to deal damage and they can deal up to three damage if I remember right. The triangle's max damage is only one.

As for distributing the damage.. well, depends on the situation really. Sometimes you want to destroy the units that have already drawn fate cards. Sometimes you should instead direct the damage to the big guys because they can take more hits (although then you're risking drawing zero fate cards with them).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Jones
msg tools
mbmb
Thanks!!! makes sense now.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich
United States
Plymouth
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are several fate card breakdowns in the file section for this board game that can give you an idea why Hexagon units are much more powerful although they only draw 1 card.

While triangle units miss 40% of the time and can do a maximum of 1 dmg or rout, Hexagon units miss 20% of the time, do up to 3 dmg and 2 rout, and their special abilities are much more powerful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just as a note about dealing damage. While it can often be a good idea to damage a more powerful unit to keep more smaller units alive, if you do it too soon it can be risky, since once a unit is damaged, all future damaged must be applied to that unit until it's destroyed (with a very few exceptions). Thus, if you damaged your Initiative 5 Siege Tower when you are still in Initiative 1, and the enemy has several more units to go before then, you stand a good chance of having the Siege Tower die before it even gets to go.

It can often be a decision between killing off a few weaker units (and lowering your strength more), but letting your powerful units get a chance to act, or killing off a powerful unit to save more small units, keeping your strength higher.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.