Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dragon's Breath rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could someone run through a few examples of the Shadow Dragon's Fire Breath ability? I'm a little confused about exactly how to trace the path.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just connect 4 squares, as if you were walking. Not sure if you can retrace your steps...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Figgins
United States
Woodland
California
flag msg tools
badge
http://lyrislaser.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you can retrace, I don't think it would affect that figure twice.

So that's the target square and three more, right? My reading would also indicate that I don't need LOS to any spaces besides the target space.

Pretty nasty stuff.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, it just fans out like controlled napalm.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh really? I'd been playing that the spaces had to be in a line.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Russo
United States
Lansdale
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
cferejohn wrote:
Oh really? I'd been playing that the spaces had to be in a line.


Yeah, a line seemed to make more sense to me, but then it says it can be in any direction.

It seems kind of weird that a monster could do a breath attack and then have it travel perpendicular to the direction of attack. I guess if the rules are going to allow that, why not just go for any four squares the OL picks?

This definitely needs some clarification in the upcoming FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Morgan
United Kingdom
Grays
Essex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cferejohn wrote:
Oh really? I'd been playing that the spaces had to be in a line.


Pretty sure they would have used the word line if they meant it to be straight, a path indicates that it can go off in different directions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Russo
United States
Lansdale
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
DaveMorgan wrote:
cferejohn wrote:
Oh really? I'd been playing that the spaces had to be in a line.


Pretty sure they would have used the word line if they meant it to be straight, a path indicates that it can go off in different directions.


Yes, I agree. It just seems a little weird though. I guess the dragon can curve its breath like that movie where the people could curve their bullets. haha
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, I'll make that change to the sound of the whining of my players

The curving even kind of makes sense - I can see fire kind of "licking" around a corner. Could house rule that the dragon has to have LoS to each space, but seems like a lot of bookkeeping for nominal difference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Purple Paladin

California
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the dragon is looking down on the heros, seems he can breath fire down in any pattern he wants from that vantage point. I could see it being wonky if he was 5' 10".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
André Oord
Netherlands
SNAKKERBUREN
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb

The dragons are rumored to have a 20 long burning tongue
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Russo
United States
Lansdale
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmb
Purple Paladin wrote:
Well, the dragon is looking down on the heros, seems he can breath fire down in any pattern he wants from that vantage point. I could see it being wonky if he was 5' 10".


That is a good point. I can see it making a lot more sense since he has a nice vantage point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garth Bowden
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
My question is that since the dragon is a melee monster, does the first of the four squares need to contain a hero/familiar that is being attacked?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, which would be true if he was ranged as well. An attack must target a space that contains a figure. With breath, that starting space must contain a figure.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.