Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Rules

Subject: Damage Barrier and Counterattack after target is dead? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Humrich
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After reading the rulebook I have the following question:

Do you still resolve step 6 (Damage Barrier) and step 7 (Counterattack) after the target took enough damage to die in step 4 or 5?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Fregoso

La Spezia
Italy
msg tools
Black Metal Geek
badge
NO FUN - NO CORE - NO TRENDS - NO MOSH
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
logically i think:
step 6: yes
step 7: no
waiting for Pope...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Pope
United States
Sachse
Texas
flag msg tools
Perfect Marco!

Yes - the damage barrier always triggers, even if the target died! In effect its simultaneous with the attack. For game purposes we had to choose one of the events to happen first. It was a tough call, but for a number of reasons, including making DB's a little less powerful, we decided to let the damage barriers' attack occur in Step 6.

However, the counterstrike does not occur if the target is destroyed. The counterattack is not simultaneous, it truly is happening after the first attack, and therefore cannot occur if the target is destroyed.

Now wait until we get you confused with our First Strike trait! We had the Elf High Guard creature pulled from this first release but he'll be coming soon. He always gets to strike first, even with his counterstrike! :-)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Humrich
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer!

In case you reprint the rulebook due to selling out the print run you should add the "if not destroyed" condition to step 7 for clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Turner
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lord Galactus wrote:
Perfect Marco!

Yes - the damage barrier always triggers, even if the target died! In effect its simultaneous with the attack. For game purposes we had to choose one of the events to happen first. It was a tough call, but for a number of reasons, including making DB's a little less powerful, we decided to let the damage barriers' attack occur in Step 6.

However, the counterstrike does not occur if the target is destroyed. The counterattack is not simultaneous, it truly is happening after the first attack, and therefore cannot occur if the target is destroyed.

Now wait until we get you confused with our First Strike trait! We had the Elf High Guard creature pulled from this first release but he'll be coming soon. He always gets to strike first, even with his counterstrike! :-)


Aha. I had been looking for an official response on this. Just got the game, and I was surprised this wasn't made clear in the rules. Seems the rule book still needs clarifying!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.