Hide
6 Posts

Fire When Ready» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Some thoughts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Duncan
msg tools
This is a game I played alot in my early wargaming years and tend to revisit now and again. I find it really enjoyable. I am a bit of an amateur naval historian and through research have created stats for almost every ship for the period of around 1890.

I find that this game, although simulating up to the Russo-Japanese war of 1904-05 is really far more suited to naval combat in the late 80's and early 90's as the gunnery ranges are perfect for that era. In the late 90's gun range and effectiveness rapidly increased so that the gunnery tables are very poor at representing Combat for this period, especially the Russian/Japanese battles.

There are some great historical possibilities that my research has revealed:

A Chilean v USA conflict in late 1891/early 1892 as a result of conflict between the Successfull Chilean rebels and the USA during the Chilean Civil War of 1891 e.g. the Itata and Baltimore incidents.

A German v USA war in 1889 over their Samoan dispute. Both sides had small squadrons at Apia (three ships each), but a Cyclone sank or disabled all six and effectively ended the standoff.

The usual Franco-British war over any number of disputes, but mainly west Africa and Egypt in the early 90's. This period was France's best chance for any naval success against the British, as the Naval Defence Act of 1889 transformed the Royal Navy into a massive powerhouse with numerous very powerful and modern ships in all classes by the mid 90's.

An Anglo-Japanese alliance against France, Germany and Russia in 1895 in the wake of the Sino-Japanese War.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wheet
United States
Rochester
NH
flag msg tools
badge
mbmb
Jim D wrote:
I am a bit of an amateur naval historian and through research have created stats for almost every ship for the period of around 1890.