Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Morgan
United States
Schenectady
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I’m sure there already plenty of reviews for Puerto Rico in the BGG archive, as it is such a popular and well regarded game. That being said, I just recently picked up this game via math trade, so it is new to me.

I have played multiple games with 3, 4, and 5 players. I have also played with other complete newbies, and online with others with far more experience. As to be expected, I feel this game plays best with 5. That does not mean it doesn’t play well with 3 or 4, it just seemed that the more people swiping potential actions and resources, the more stressful the game…and I personally like a stressful game with there just isn’t enough turns or resources to do everything you want, so you have to make the tough decisions. As is to be expected, I also feel the game plays better with more experienced players. Again, this is not to say it isn’t for newbies, as the rules are straightforward, and the main gameplay is intuitive and easy to follow.

I am going to skip the detailed review of the components, and just say that the pieces all serve their purposes fine, and the heavyweight cardboard tiles are very nice. The artwork is effective, although certainly not spectacular.