Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Lords of Waterdeep» Forums » Rules

Subject: Agents Must Take Actions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand you cannot simply play an Agent to 'block' a spot from an opponent.

But, if there is nowhere else to go, do you HAVE to perform the Action on the spot?
Example: Reassigning Agents from Harbor - only place left to assign is Builders Hall. Do you have to place your Agent there AND be forced to Build?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Suitland
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Commorato
United States
Staten Island
NY
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
downeymb wrote:
Yes.


OK, what if you can't afford to Build? Or any other situation that would hinder you from taking the Action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Bird
Australia
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Except for the (possibly quite rare) case where you cannot afford to build any of the buildings on offer, in which case I think you simply forfeit your turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. B. Downey
United States
Suitland
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, if the only place you can go is one where you cannot perform the action, then you forfeit that action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Raciborski
United States
Newport News
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mercom wrote:
I understand you cannot simply play an Agent to 'block' a spot from an opponent.

But, if there is nowhere else to go, do you HAVE to perform the Action on the spot?
Example: Reassigning Agents from Harbor - only place left to assign is Builders Hall. Do you have to place your Agent there AND be forced to Build?


Well you could play an agent to block a spot from an opponent, you just must be able to carry out the action, example pay for a building. Not sure if you should waste both an agent and turn doing this.

The rules are clear you must play an agent if you can, so, if there is only the Harbor spot, you must to that. You may only pass when there is no option for you then you are out for the rest of the round. If everyone is in the same boat the round ends early.

Don't forget to read the Official FAQ
http://wizards.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2233
edit..
Ah, somewhat misread you meaning about blocking an opponent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.