Subject: Question about use/creation of company names? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Azzari the Blue
Canada
Gatineau
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for reading, geeks! I'm brand new at producing games, and have been hard at work bringing a card game to life. I'm very excited to show it off and get some opinions here, and I expect to be able to do that within the next couple weeks.

My question has to do with creating a "company name." I don't have a business license and am not at the point of getting one at this moment, but I would like some kind of creative name to put on the cards and the box for the game that isn't just my real name.

Is this okay to do? Am I still protected under copyright if I use a company name without having a license? Or should I get one whether or not I'm ready to do business?

Any help is appreciated! :)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Migas
United States
Akron
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why do you feel that you need a company name in order to create a game?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Nicholas
Australia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmb
You do not have to register a company/brand name until the product requires distribution or is turning a profit. Once your game begins to turn a profit it must be registered with an official tax file number and company name.

In the mean time, if you are just prototyping/demoing your game any name you brand the game with will be official, as long as you have some way to link/prove that name ie. a website or facebook page.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wood
United Kingdom
Little Chalfont
Unspecified
flag msg tools
SPEAK TO A CANADIAN ACCOUNTANT!!!

No one here, unless they fall into this (or similar (CANADIAN) category) can actually give you a helpful answer.

I have no idea, for example, about the Australian poster's comment, but it is not valid in the UK.